Good food, farm & garden, everyday chores, hiking and more! In Portland, Oregon, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE ARE ONLY ACCEPTING HIKER/BIKER GUESTS. YOU MUST ARRIVE IN PORTLAND OR LEAVE PORTLAND ON FOOT, BY BICYCLE, OR SIMILAR. HITCHHIKING IS DISSIMILAR. Examples of "similar" include: skateboards, rollerblades, wheelchairs, scooters, unicycles, tricycles, etc. You're still using motor vehicles. If you have a physical disability that prevents you from travelling under your own power, you're welcome, too. Or if you sailed here, that's ok, too. We are trusting you to be honest with us about your use of motor vehicles before your arrival.

    Our house is painted rainbow. It is very small. It is a work in progress! We need help with that progress. We are growing gardens in several locations, and we can use help with growing those gardens. There's also everyday chores to work on, and assorted building projects.

    Upcoming projects include building a bike shed, rebuilding the "garage", painting the rainbow, installing the rest of the kitchen counter, and more. Just the other day, a guest with no prior experience helped us build kitchen shelving!

    This is a very bike culture household. People who aren't us might call us an extremely bike culture household. We haul everything by bicycle.

    We check email 1-2x/week.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    PROJECTS AND LEARNING
    What do you want to learn? Woodworking? Building? Volunteering in the community? Gardening/farming? ETC? We can hook you up with a project that meets your interests!

    Recent projects (last update: February) - weeding invasive flower bulbs, building window shelves to support seedling plants (this was done by beginners with no previous woodworking experience and it turned out great!), finishing the floor upstairs, starting seeds, and more.

    We can also hook you up with a wide variety of volunteer opportunities if that's your jam. We can tell you about the touristy things.

    We mostly spend our time (at this time) growing food, volunteering, and working on house projects, and you're welcome to join us if you want. You can also do your own thing.

  • Help

    Help

    We are still in the process of building our house. We are also trying to grow as much of our own food as possible.

    All are welcome. No relevant experience required! We have enough variety in our projects that there's something for everyone to do. We have an ongoing list of projects of varying levels of difficulty and expertise.

    When emailing us, give us the SPECIFIC DATES you want to Workaway.

    MAXIMUM STAY: 1 week
    Last-Minute Requests Okay? If the calendar at the top of the page is yellow or green. But we only check email every few days.

    NOVEMBER and beyond: OPEN

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish, tiny bit of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Maximum Number of Guests: 2
    Preferred Gender to Host: Any
    Kid Friendly? Yes. We have no kids. Kids are welcome but we have not kid-proofed things. Know thy kid.
    Pet Friendly? Yes. We have no pets. Pets are welcome but we do not have an enclosed outdoor area. There is a neighborhood cat who drops by for snacks sometimes.
    Smoking Allowed? No!
    Wheelchair Accessible? Not at all, but we would be happy to try. See details below.

    NOTE: You may work as many or few hours as you choose. (Workaway is typically 4-5 hours per day. We default to 2 hours per day, but for some reason Workaway kept rejecting my profile when I listed that.) Just let us know your plans and stick to what you say. If there’s something specific you want to learn, we are happy to work with you on that.

    ACCOMMODATIONS
    So we've been building this house. Recently, we got our occupancy permit! So we have cooking facilities and a bathroom and such, but the kitchen is still missing some counter, there's no actual couch, that sort of thing.

    Long story short, you have options. You can sleep on the floor in the living room (we don't have a couch yet, but we have a million chairs) - we can offer a sleeping pad and sleeping bag if needed - or in your tent in the yard. It's up to you. We have sleeping pads, sleeping bags, sheets, and blankets. The living room is the same room as the kitchen, but we're not night owls. We have a privacy curtain to emotionally separate the living room from the loft at bedtime.

    ROOMMATE SITUATION
    Just me and my partner. We have no roommates at this time. It's a small house that's bigger on the outside. Think studio apartment size plus a loft room.

    FOOD
    SOUP. The soup is always on and it's usually vegan. We are a vegan/vegetarian-friendly household. We get a lot of our food expired but still good. You're pretty much welcome to any of our food. Except the super-secret junk food cupboard; don't touch that!

    PHYSICAL ACCESSIBILITY - Our house has two stairs to get into it and a wood chip pathway. I usually slip trying to get up the path when I'm on a trike. This is after re-grading the path angle three times. Our entry doors are wide but our bathroom door is narrow. The shower has a tub. We are probably not a great fit for someone with a wheelchair, but if you want to stay here and you think it's possible, we are happy to work with you. We're really into bikes and we have a spinning wheel, so if you like to geek out about wheels and/or transportation infrastructure you'll be in good company.

    ALLERGENS
    Not a fragrance-free environment, but pretty close.

    We have no pets. We do feed one neighborhood cat sometimes, but she has an actual home elsewhere. She likes to stop by to check out new surfers, but is very independent and happy to stay away if you're allergic. We had a couple dogs stay with us in July 2019. Last updated: July 31, 2019.

    PETS
    We have no pets. Pets are welcome and sometimes stay, but we do not have an enclosed outdoor area.

    COMMUNICATION - We do not know ASL but I love to type. Queremos practicar espanol si espanol es tu primer lenguaje (por favor :). There is NO INTERNET ACCESS in the rainbow house. Internet can be accessed at a variety of locations: There is a coffee shop half a block away that's open mornings. There is a university library with free wifi and great hours half a mile away. It is huge and they allow "pack it in, pack it out" food. There are a couple public libraries with computers a mile or two away. There are a couple natural foods grocery stores with good hours and cafe-style seating areas that offer free wifi.

    CAFE - Half a block from our house. We typically have mostly herbal teas.

    LAUNDRY - We don't have a washer/dryer. We bike ours to the cheap laundromat a couple miles away. The nearest laundromat is like half a mile away on a frequent service bus route. Walking distance. There's also a laundromat near one of the public libraries. We can lend you a bike and bike trailer if needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    GETTING AROUND
    We have loads of paper maps of the city that you can borrow. We are within a block of a frequent-service bus line. That means it operates every 15 minutes or better, most of the day, every day. Can also give solid walking/biking/etc. directions. Our neighbor (also on Workaway) claims you can bike to downtown in 20 minutes, but if you ask me, it takes an hour.

    TOURISM
    My favorite recommendation is to hike through Forest Park. Forest Park is the largest urban wilderness in the USA. Our house is very small, and we've found that it works best if you are here to get out and do things in the city. We are also happy to bring you with us to some of the things we go do on various days, such as volunteering and community dinners.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

If you're looking at this planter from the sidewalk, the path to our house is right behind you!
Walking along the path to our house
The path to our house
Living room and sleeping corner with someone's stuff all settled in
Kitchen
Angel & Darin at Rainbow House. Photo by Danielle Ananea.
Angel & Darin @ Rainbow House. Photo by Danielle Ananea
Basic layout.
Angel & Darin. Photo by David Korman.

Host ref number: 191485637641