Join our family on an organic holiday farm/pedagogical farm in the south of Apulia, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 191 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family - 2 adults of over 50 years, 2 boys of 15 and 19 years - runs an organic agritourism/pedagogical farm in the south of Apulia / Italy with guests from everywherem mainly from spring to the end of october.

    We practise organic farming (vegetables, olive oil, fruits) for our own and the guests' need. We have animals: goats, chickens, 2 donkeys and 4 horses, 3 dogs and several cats. We produce goat cheese and we do relaxing activities with horses, mainly for children.

    Our family is bilingual (German and Italian) and we speak English, French and Greek, too.
    We are open-minded and modern, but care for maintaining certain values. We like to work and we like to relax, but in certain periods week-ends do not really exist. This is typical for a rural contest. The local traditions are very alive here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about southern country life, tradition, music and history, get to know a typical lively village. If we get along very well, you will notice that you become part of the family.

  • Help

    Help

    In SUMMER we prefer someone who plays the guitar (and maybe teaches it), waters the flowers, helps with the laundry and keeps the environment clean. Flexibility regarding the things to do and a minimum stay of 3 weeks are requested. Cooking every-day lunch for the family (or together with us) would be fantastic and keeping the kitchen clean would be great. Fresh organic ingredients grow in our agriculture.

    In AUTUMN we need a helping hand to do some school-tutoring mainly at MATHS, NATURAL SCIENCES and SPANISH or FRENCH for our son. Preferred languages are fluent and correct French and Spanish, but he or she mustn't necessarily be a native speaker. Germans or Italians are welcome too! A positive, firm and friendly person would be great. There should always be time for a laugh.
    We expect some experience in teaching to single persons and in developping clear mind maps. Spanish or French speaking people with a basic knowledge of Italien would be perfect. A minimum stay of 4 weeks is requested.

    Please see if your profil fits to what we've written above, because this is where we mainly need help. Thank you!!

    See you!

    Ursula and Rocco

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, German, English, French, Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small apartment with kitchen facilities and toilet / shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near the village, Corigliano d'Otranto, which can be reached on foot or by bike in a few minutes. You will find everything there. It is a good place to go out in the evenings, compared to other small towns. The next big city - LECCE - can be reached by train, the coasts by bus in summer, Otranto also by train. Lecce has a university. Maglie and Galatina, Otranto and Gallipoli are minor cities, but worth seeing.
    The nearest airport is BRINDISI. BARI is 200 km away, but has a good connection to reach Lecce. From there you can take the train or we can pick you up at Lecce.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 30 hours/week , flexible attitude



Host ref number: 187993131791