Help with small tasks at our family home in Bergerac, France

Country

France

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help with gardening and DIY in a beautiful townhouse on the Dordogne, France! We're a family of three, including our one-year-old son, and we've recently moved into a large property in the centre of Bergerac, France. We need help with general maintenance and DIY, as well as help gardening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're offering you a home in the centre of Bergerac, right on the Dordogne! Come and immerse yourself in the French language and culture. French is spoken in the home, so if you're looking to improve your skills, you're very welcome to (we also speak English if not 😊)!

    Bergerac is a beautiful town with historic buildings and modern amenities. The river is beautiful, and we like to take a picnic on Saturdays and spend the day there.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for people to help with some of the gardening and DIY around the home. We're very busy as we both work full time and are raising our one-year-old son, and so any help with small jobs around the home and keeping the garden tidy is appreciated. We may also ask you to keep an eye on our son for an hour or two if that's something that would interest you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation will be a furnished double room in our main home in Bergerac. You will have lots of private space as it's a very large set of buildings that includes the main house as well as a couple of cottages. It's a somewhat old-fashioned house, (think period drama), but we love it and it's full of character!

    You won't be alone -- generally there are other people in the house besides us, either other members of our family, friends who've come to stay, or colleagues from our businesses (we run a couple of internet companies).

    We eat together for lunch and dinner. We have a cooking rota. Breakfast and snacks are DIY. There's always food in the fridge and something to snack on.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We'll pick you up from the airport or train station if you're coming by public transport. There's parking outside if not.

    In your spare time, we highly recommend you see the town, and the surrounding countryside. It's a beautiful region, so do try and explore! We have a car that we share, so we may be able to lend it to you for a day trip if you've found somewhere you'd like to go -- or maybe we'll go together 😊

    As for our lifestyles, we're juggling running our businesses and raising our son -- so we've got a lot going on. You'll generally be left to your own devices, but we like to come together in the evenings and at weekends. We ask that you have a willingness to get stuck in, are flexible, and don't mind a little bit of uncertainty -- that's generally how we like to roll.

    We also enjoy mindfulness practices and think a lot about what it would mean to live more wisely and live in a wiser society. If this interests you, great! We'll probably be talking about it over dinner 😊

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yep! We run two online businesses ourselves, so are well adapted to digital nomad life.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of off-street parking in our second home, and there is street parking in our main home in Bergerac.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 185875689859