Family homestead with endless outdoor recreation in Nelson, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family of three; Jonathan, Sabra and our little potato Nello who is four months old. We have an elderly dog called Bounce.

    We are earthy, active and love living in Nelson for the endless outdoor recreation. You can find us hiking, camping, rock climbing, mushroom picking and foraging or spending time on the countless beaches!

    We are new owners of a modest three bedroom home situated on one acre that we are aspiring to turn into a beautiful homestead.

    We are looking for help with various homesteading projects such as painting, permaculture gardening, building, chicken coop construction/maintenance, expanding the orchard, fermentation projects and more. We have endless ideas and to-do lists!

    We live twenty minutes from the vibrant cultural town of Nelson, BC famous for mt biking, hiking and its beautiful lake. We are walking distance to a wonderful grocery store, two cafes and two beaches. There is public transportation just minutes from our home as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both well travelled with diverse working history. Jonathan is passionate about regenerative farming and gardening, and Sabra loves to experiment with ferments, cooking and baking. We both speak English, but love to practice German, French and Spanish. Jonathan loves to chat and share his travel and work abroad stories. His father is the founder of WOOF Canada, and he grew up hosting and volunteering. We love to share meals and stories, and spend time around a camp fire.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for experienced helpers for building, gardening, and landscaping. We both have permaculture backgrounds; Jonathan has developed and maintained beautiful food forests in India and California and Sabra studied Ecosystem Management.
    We are open to having contributors who are inexperienced in those areas, who are eager to learn and want to get their hands dirty.
    We work hard, but also relax hard. We are flexible and enjoy taking a sunny day off for the beach but typically we expect five hours of work, five days a week in exchange for your room and board.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in learning and practicing all languages especially Spanish, French and German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare room on the main floor of our house which is fully equipped with furniture and bedding. The room is small, but you have access to the living room and kitchen area. We live downstairs, and share the kitchen space, but seldom use the upstairs living room so this area will mostly be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Endless recreation in Nelson such as hiking, mountain biking, rock climbing and water sports. Wonderful restaurants, breweries and cafes. Nelson offers a variety of workshops and healing modalities, yoga and fitness classes. Great shops and thrift stores.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    For those working online, we have internet access with great high speed wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 184774258623