Learn about ecological farming and enjoy our lovely scenery near the lake, Ebersbach-Musbach, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 153 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My parents Franz and Hedwig (63 & 61) and I Anne (36) work on our family farm. My younger siblings have already moved out, but visit us frequently.

    The heart of our business is milk production. This includes the breeding of our own offspring. In our stable are about 70 dairy cows and again about 70 cattle. In addition, we manage 80 ha of grassland and arable land. Smaller but still important areas for our family are the own farmer garden, orchards and the management of a small piece of forest.

    Since 1990 we manage our farm ecologically according to the rules of the Bioland Association. We are "mostly" not in it for the money. So if you interested in ecological farming, cows, our lovely scenery and looking for a possiblity to learn about it you are in the right place.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is located in the heart of Upper Swabia. The next larger "city" Ravensburg is about 30 km away. In principle, our village Ried is a 2 km long street on the left and right a few houses. By train you can be in 1 hour on Lake Constance or in 2 hours in Stuttgart - if you feel like a little city again.

    Unser Hof liegt im Herz Oberschwabens. Die nächst größere "Stadt" Ravensburg ist etwa 30 km entfernt. Unser Dorf Ried ist im Prinzip eine 2 km lange Straße an der links und rechts ein paar Häuser stehen. Mit dem Zug ist man in 1 Stunde am Bodensee oder in 2 Stunden in Stuttgart - falls ihr mal wieder Lust auf ein bißchen Stadt habt.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The most important task on our farm is the work in the cowshed. The cows must be milked twice a day and the calves fed. In addition, the stable work is of course also about maintaining the well-being of our cows and calves and, if possible, increasing them. To achieve this goal, we have been working with homeopathic treatments for a few years. During the activities in the barn you get to know the different characters of the animals and how to handle them. If you like to work, you'll find a suitable task in the ever-recurring repair and tinkering work around the yard and the stable. During the summer and autumn months we also want to take care of the small vegetable garden and to process the fruits of our fruit trees. We also regularly bake our own bread and are proud owners of an almost antique kneading machine and a large bread oven.

    Die wichtigste Aufgabe auf unserem Hof ist die Arbeit im Kuhstall. Die Kühe müssen zweimal täglich gemolken werden und die Kälbchen gefüttert werden. Darüber hinaus geht es bei der Stallarbeit natürlich auch darum, das Wohlbefinden unserer Kühe und Kälbchen zu erhalten und wenn möglich zu steigern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, arbeiten wir seit ein paar Jahren mit homöopathischen Behandlungsmethoden. Bei den Tätigkeiten im Stall lernt man die unterschiedlichen Charaktere der Tiere kennen und wie man mit diesen umgeht. Wer gerne werkelt, findet in den immer wieder anfallenden Reperatur- und Tüftelarbeiten rund um Hof und Stall bestimmt eine passende Aufgabe. In den Sommer- und Herbstmonanten wollen außerdem der kleine Gemüsegarten gepflegt und die Früchte unserer Obstbäume verarbeitet werden. Wir backen außerdem regelmäßig unser eigenes Brot und sind stolze Besitzer einer fast schon antiken Knetmaschine und eines großen Brotbackofens.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You get a separate room in the house. The other rooms are shared. Breakfast and lunch are usually eaten together. At dinner, you can use the fridge and in the pantry. Vegetarian food is possible.

    Du bekommst ein seperates Zimmer im Wohnhaus. Die anderen Räume werden geteilt. Frühstück und Mittagessen werden in der Regel gemeinsam geesssen. Beim Abendessen kannst Du dich gerne am Kühlschrank und in der Speisekammer bedienen. Vegetarisches Essen ist möglich.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As a farmer you do not necessarily have the opportunity to see much of the world. Workaway is the opportunity for us to bring a little bit of the world to us.

    Da man als Landwirt nicht unbedingt die Möglichkeit hat viel von der Welt zu sehen. Ist Workaway für uns die Gelegenheit ein bißchen von der Welt zu uns zu holen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 - 30 hours/ week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 184385797921