Help us maintain and grow our family farm and explore American culture in North Carolina, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farm which practices organic and sustainable animal husbandry and gardening. We raise cattle for meat, chickens for eggs, ducks for eggs and meat, and horses, dogs, and cats as pets. We currently have goats, and hope to make cheese with the milk soon. We have some fruit trees and bushes, but hope to expand this dramatically in the coming years. We primarily make income from rentals, and therefore this is a primary focus, including eco-tourism opportunities for our guests. So all our practices benefit everyone-rental guests, ourselves, and you. We would love to host you and have you come help us grow our farm!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will benefit by exposure to the wide and varied activities gained on an organic and sustainable Appalachian farm. We will learn from you, you will learn from us. We will share stories and experiences. The small nearby town of Marshall, NC has many young and like-minded sustainable farmers and artists. The nearby city of Asheville, NC is thriving with tourists, art, restaurants, music, and tons of outdoor activities (hiking, mountain biking, river rafting and kayaking, etc!)

    Workawayers will also be able to enjoy our 150 acre farm, can fish the pond, as well as eat from any of the vegetables and fruits we grow together, and eat the grass-fed, antibiotic free, hormone free beef we raise here on the farm from our cattle.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We ideally would host a couple of individuals who know each other, work together well, and have a variation of skills. Our needs include the occasional cleaning of 2 rentals (a yurt and cottage). You as Workawayers will actually stay in one of our beautiful rentals-a camper which includes a full bathroom, clean decor, air conditioning and propane heat, and a full kitchen (what luxury!). Since this is one of our rentals when Workawayers are not living in it, we expect it to be perfectly maintained and regularly cleaned. Thanks!
    We also raise cattle, chickens, horses, ducks and have other animals on the farm, as well as a small organic garden. We have some fruit bushes and trees, but plan to plant many more. We have 150 acres to attend. Some skills necessary will include the following:
    -detailed cleaning of rentals
    -animal care (horses, goats, poultry, cattle)
    -fence maintenance
    -building projects
    -landscaping
    -mowing and weed-wacking
    -planting and transplating
    -seed starting
    -garden preparation, planting, maintenance, weeding
    -light and heavy equipment usage (mowers, tractors, trucks, chainsaw)
    -tree, brush, bush clearing
    -tree cutting, firewood cutting

    This is not a complete list of opportunities and activities. We welcome other skills and are looking for someone who is willing to learn, work hard, is self motivated, and willing to share with us your stories and experiences.

    Our annual schedule generally look like this:
    -animal care is ongoing year-round
    -building projects and fence repair year-round
    -landscaping year-round with majority of transplanting in the fall and late winter and majority of grass mowing in summer
    February-final winter cleanup, garden preparation, possible seed starting
    March-rentals open and begin renting/cleaning, seed starting, garden preparation completed
    April-rentals, garden planting and maintenance
    May-rentals, garden planting and maintenance, landscaping care
    June-rentals, garden maintenance, landscaping care
    July-rentals, garden maintenance, seed starting, landscaping care
    August-rentals, garden maintenance and planting, seed starting, landscaping care
    September-rentals, garden maintenance, landscaping care, transplanting
    October-rentals, garden maintenance, landscaping care, transplanting
    November-rentals, transplanting and overwinter preparation
    December-rentals, winter clearing

    Our typical day might look like this:
    Morning:
    -activities/projects for the week have been discussed, usually at the beginning of the week, but daily check in is helpful
    -outdoor projects before the day gets hot (summertime), so gardening, lawn care, etc.
    Midday:
    -Rentals cleaning, building projects, activities depending on the temperature and weather will vary, rest time
    Evenings:
    -gardening, lawn care, finishing projects

    So much of our day is weather dependent, so we are very flexible and do not hold a rigorous routine. We would expect about 15 hours of committed time per week (per person). This could be 3 days/wk 5 hours labor or 5 days/wk 3 hours labor- depends on need at the time. We will discuss and plan the week in advance so you know when you can have your free time.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1-2 Workawayers can fit into our 28' beautiful camper. Full kitchen, full bathroom, wifi, smart TV, outdoor seating, fire pit, grill, beautiful view...it's pretty stellar. You will be responsible to empty the grey and black water from the camper, but we have a trolley to help do this and move it to a dump location.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we cannot guarantee you the use of a car, we do have vehicles which you can use with prior arrangement. The nearby town of Marshall, with 2 bars, 3 restaurants, a coffee shop, artist studios, a post office, and grocery stores is about a 10 minute drive away. The town of Weaverville is a 20 minute drive away with all of this and more, including a laundromat to wash your clothes (although we can discuss you using our washer/dryer at home too.) Asheville is a 30 minute drive away and a thriving small city with all you can hope for. There are innumerable outdoor activities in the area, from climbing, hiking, mountain biking, road biking, horse riding, swimming holes, river rafting, kayaking, tubing, fishing, etc. The nearest beach is about a 4.5-5 hour drive away (quite far!), but there is a lot to do here in the mountains. You are a couple hours drive from several bigger cities: Knoxville, TN, Charlotte, NC, or Atlanta, GA.

    All this said, we usually find all the happiness we could hope for here on the farm and in our surrounding town of Marshall. We hope you will come join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do have wifi signal in the camper, from a cell phone signal. However it is not terribly fast and it can be interrupted with storms/rain. That being said, you should be able to do most all the correspondence (minimal video/downloading) with internet searching/emailing.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate any size van/camper with water access (a hose) and electrical plug in. You would have a visually private space (not sound proof) with a beautiful view and easy access. You are responsible to manage your grey/black water appropriately.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This very much depends on your pet and how they behave with our dogs, cats, children, chickens, livestock, rental guests. We would prefer a small pet. We would need to discuss in length your animal behavior before accepting it here. We hope you understand.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15/week


Host ref number: 184137391684