Help out in our daily life on our farm near Moree, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family farming business in northern NSW near Moree; with four children ranging from 16-21 years old.
    We have lots of animals, riding horses and five donkeys. As part of our business, we manage a Santa Gertrudis cattle stud along with commercial sheep and have several competition and stock horses.
    Two of our children compete in eventing, dressage, show jumping and pony club.
    We are also heavily involved with agriculture and cropping cereals, legumes and fodder for livestock. As our four children are mostly away at boarding school or university, we often need some extra help around the farm and house, as it is normally just two of us.
    Our property is in a rural area near Crooble which is 65km to Moree, NSW but its only a bit further to Goondiwindi, QLD.


    Our family is very fun-loving and outgoing and we love having visitors and people in our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family of six although our children are away at boarding school or university most of the year. As a mixed farm of cropping and livestock, travellers can learn a variety of skills and have a genuine rural experience in an hospitable atmosphere. We can assist travellers in learning language and new skills whilst living in a friendly, family environment. Both my husband and I have been exchangees through Young Farmers organisations so have an understanding of a travellers needs and expectations.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are a self motivated and energetic person who loves agriculture, animals and being around people, we would love you to come and stay at our farm.
    No experience is not an issue as long as you come with an approachable and willing attitude.
    General help in the house daily
    Farm work, tractor driving
    Gardening and help with watering, mowing, weeding etc.
    General help with the horses including cleaning, grooming, feeding and rugging of horses
    We are in the process of moving farms from northern NSW to Qld and need help with general farming activities, working horses and cattle, household help ( some of which might be packing and cleaning) and general maintenance and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In house accommodation with own room and access to vehicle, all meals supplied.
    Big house with spacious kitchen and large lounge
    Individual bedroom and shared bathroom
    Room includes double bed with cupboard and space. Verandah adjoining.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nice area. Friendly community.
    Moree is one of our closest towns, with artesian spas, ski park, restaurants and cafes, gymnasium and shopping.
    There is good fishing and hunting locally and helpers are able to ride our horses if that interests them. We have a kayak and ski boat which we use during the summer. Our property is in quite a picturesque are and we are also accessible to the Northern Tablelands, a region with a strong tourism and arts industries. There is also a local club at Croppa Creek with golf and bowling and horse events at North Star. We can supply a vehicle to travellers with an appropriate licence.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 181362775778