Join and help us developing a healthy environment for all beings in Alto Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Here you find a free and (mostly ;)) happy german family with 3 small kids – aged 1, 3 ½ an 6 years - a wonderful dog and two cats. The last two years we travelled with our old camper trough Europe and came across to our land by coincidence last year. On January we started our project here und built our yurt in which we`re living now, on 50.000sqm – between olives and huge old corkoaks in the Serra de Sao Mamede.
    Our aim is to live environmentally sustainable, self-sufficient and reduce our footprint as much as possible. We want to create a permaculture foodforest and slowly convert our land into a healthy and peaceful ecosystem.
    But every time we don´t want to be only focused on our idea´s – we´re trying to be always open and mindful for new projects , people – changing rhythms or flows ;)
    For the next weeks we´re specially planning to built our compost toilet and a small clay hut, plant a lot of trees, always a bit of gardening , create a herbal garden, built a geodesic Dome and of course always try to conserve fruits and veggies as much as we can – I think the projects and ideas will never get stopped 
    We´re an unschooling family so our kids are always with us and learn everything whenever and wherever they want to. We´re trying to communicate and live together in a respectful and mindful way, attach the needs of everyone. That means at some days we´re working more and some days it´s better not to try to do anything – just take the swimming clothes and take a break at the lake ;)
    It means also that we´re not only focused on people who are good handcrafters , cooks and gardeners - we´ll be also very happy if you like it to spend time with kids, do some projects with them or whatever kind of idea you´ll have  And of course we´re inviting not only singles, friends, couples – you´re welcome as a family too! Also we´re always curious about new traditions and dishes, so you´re everytime invited to cook with us.
    Naturally you´re very welcome as a family member, take part in our daily life and routine, meeting other alternative people (actually quite a lot here ;)) and families .
    Our property is located near a very small rural portuguese village, which you can easily reach by bike within 5min. There are two small supermarkets, a bakery and a few cafes where you´ll find all the basic things you need. To reach the nearby big lake, which is really great to swim and take a break, you´ll need about 15-20mins by bike. But on hot days we normally go there every afternoon with our car anyway.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We ´ll be happy to teach you about off-grid farm living , regenerative agriculture, planting knowledge, native ecosystems, native species, local culture, living in and building a jurt – but we´re always happy if you want to share your ideas and knowledge too ! You´re welcome to live with us the daily crazy-unschooling-off-grid-portuguese-family life and probably you´ll get to know a few other alternative and off-grid projects from our friends and neighbors, while you are here with us.

  • Help

    Help

    Building some constructions with wood for small buildings like the compost toilet, working with clay and strow , make some firewood, planting + watering trees, taking care of the garden , have fun with the kids

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, learning portugese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We´ll offer you a camper which has enough space for two people , but could be also convert into a four bed. There you´ll have your own toilet and a small kitchen, if you want to take a shower you can lend our solar shower and find your perfect “showertree” :) But if you prefer, you´re also welcome to set up your tent under a huge corkoak.
    Our experience so far is, that we would like to have one meal on our own to have a little family care time (mostly breakfast). The other meals we are happy to share. But this also depends on your needs and the actual daily business.. But anyway you are welcome to help yourself in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are already located in the natural park so you can just relax in the hammock, or discover the beautiful landscape around. there are a lot of hiking trails, or we can lend you a bike. The Lake where you can get a refreshing is about 4km away and a lot of ancient sights are spread around.

    15km away are the beautiful villages "Castelo de Vide" and "Marvao" which are definitely worth a visit, too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 179484127958