Helping with kids in Alicante, Spain.

Country

Spain

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are an Irish family of five, and relocated to Alicante Spain 4 years ago. Our eldest boy is Fiachra, 11, our daughter Cara 6, ,and our youngest, Aoddhna, is 5. We have a 4 bedroomed house in a small gated housing community, or urbanisation, as they are known as here, about 8km north of the city. We have a lovely green area along with a pool to cool down in when needed. The Playa San Juan beach is a short bike ride away too, miles and miles of golden sand, where people swim up to December! Alicante city is a short tram ride away, and with the help of the tram, you can also enjoy visits to beautiful towns all up the Costa Blanca coastline. Nestled in the mountains a bit more inland are some charming old Spanish villages. There is sunshine here almost every day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can enjoy the sun, sea and sand during your time off. The beach is a 20 minute walk away, where you will find miles of golden sand as well as many restaurants bars and icecream parlours. We have bikes that you are most welcome to use to explore, there are bike lanes right outside the house. It could be a great way to practice your English , if you need to, as it is the spoken language in our home. Fiona is a qualified English teacher. Alicante city with its charming old town and Moorish castle are also a short tram ride away.

  • Help

    Help

    Peter has just got work and must often be away from home. So Fiona, who works full time, needs to have someone at home to carry out the stay-at-home parent duties. We have someone who helps with cleaning, do it's mainly light housework, shopping and some cooking is required, as well as the organisation of the children. It's mainly making sure that they are well organised in terms of school, homework, activities etc, and being a second pair of hands in the morning and evening. English and Spanish are the languages you'll need.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some Spanish. Basic Italian and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and toilet on the bottom floor of our three storey house. There are two more bathrooms, both with showers on the upper floors. Our house is one of ten in a quiet gated urbanisation( like a housing estate). It's a haven of peace here, yet the beach is only 15/20 minutes away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Generally work hours are 7 am to 9 am. That's the school run done. You would be needed again after school between roughly 5pm and 8pm, for cooking, tidy up, homework support etc.So you have a large part of the day free to meet a friend to practice English or Spanish, depending what language you need! English is the language most spoken in this house, which could be a big bonus if you want to improve your language skills. We also speak French, a little German and Italian, and have been learning Spanish since we arrived. If you just want to relax on the beach during time off, you will be spoilt for choice, there are many to choose from! Buses and trams are all within close proximity if you want to explore further afield. There are some stunning villages nestled in the mountains north of our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Your hosts Fiona and Peter: )
Our patio... a good spot to chill out!
View from the hill top village of Guadalest, Costa Blanca, close to our home
Our three monkeys










Host ref number: 178165773632