Volunteer farm, forestry and handy work. France

Country

France

Favourited 941 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    86  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are trying to revive the degenerated Domaine surrounding our Château, which nowadays consists of an animal farm with 25ha of hilly pastures, a 45ha forest, a saw-mill and some holiday homes. When we (Bianca, who was trained to be a nurse, and Paul, who had been stuck in an office for far too long) were in our mid 40's, we decided to get away from it all. So it was in 2005 that we left our studying sons behind and emigrated from the overpopulated Netherlands to the tranquility of rural south-west of France. We have embraced some of the local Gascon lifestyle, in which we like to enjoy a full table, both food and company, after a hard day’s work. Our son Tobias joined us early 2014 to start up bee-keeping as part of the farm activities. In spite of all the progress made, the domain never seems finished. So YES, we do welcome volunteers to help out on the farm, with the forestry and to generally fix-up this quiet Gascony glory!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    In one project, we will saw tree trunks in to planks and beams with which a shed and a barn need to be renovated. The large branches are to be (machine) split for firewood, and all the medium and small branches will be shredded into chips for the wood burner of the central heating. A secondary destination for the planks and beams is to convert the roof of a large hangar in to an area for solar panels to generate electricity.
    Another project is to renovate a building that in the 1950’s and 1960’s housed the farm workers. The idea is to change it in to a shop (boutique) to sell our farm produce, especially honey. In case you might be interested in bee-keeping, there are already a few "past" workawayers who started their own hives at home, based on the experience and knowledge they pick up from Tobias.
    Meanwhile the decoration and renovation of the main house is not yet finished, the surrounding garden, adjacent vegetable garden scream for attention and general maintenance at the farm and the two holiday villas and pool is never finished. Of course our animals (mainly beef + bees) require continuous care with which we welcome a helping hand...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french, german, dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The 3 guest-rooms in the mansion share their own bathroom. We will provide for your preferred breakfast but you'll have to prepare it yourself. But the other 2 meals will be prepared for you, a cold meal at lunch and a warm meal in the evening. Laundry can be done. The daily chores will be shared by all who enjoy the household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have plenty of experience with (mostly young) people helping out at the farm, being it family, friends and WorkAwayers ever since 2005. We started with a group of 15, family and friends, including our 2 sons and some of their friends (city boys and girls) who helped us out during the summer holidays. They all enjoyed it and some so much that they returned regularly in the following years. The last 5 years we had, on average, a dozen WorkAwayes visiting us every year, and some of them left a review on this Internet site.

    As a consequence of most of our activities we virtually live outdoors starting April. On a daily routine, the closer we get to the warm season, the earlier we rise to benefit from the early light and avoid the heath. We do warm lunches, which often cause the inevitable siesta.

    We know that our place sounds idyllic to some people, so we prefer to be straightforward about what people may expect here. You should realize that it is a lot of physical work around a farm/forest? Don’t be afraid to break a fingernail occasionally or to get your hands and knees dirty. Sometimes we even do some muscle fledging, backbone-building work, and that goes for the both of us (in our fifties).

    From experience we would prefer to have WorkAwayers as from the age of 21 years upwards, and for at least 2 weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

Kelsy's Texan BBQ
Hannah: TAdaaaah!
M&M: how's my tan, Engy?
Tia, the amazing amazon
Philip, the poolman
Alice & Hannah, rabbiting
Hannah hates pictures
Jamie, the strimmer
Aline & Julie have broken-in Samba
Georgie in action
Does Aline like suckling calves ???
Lovable Jung
Adam couldn't resist getting mud on his face.
evening snacks
wanna bite?
the catch of a mushroom-search
Panorama aux Pyrénées
Bianca & Paul
I love my beef!!
storing the grain harvest
storing the hay harvest
wood chipping
sawmill
Le Château
overview of the estate, norhwards




















































Host ref number: 17768577314b