Come and help in the gardens in a beautiful area of Skibbereen, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a former barrister, and my wife a former textile designer. We have 2 children aged 18 and 14 and two Labrador dogs. We have a Georgian house and 18 acres of gardens open to the public for 60 days. There is a 35 acre farm with Dexter cattle and other animals. The house overlooks the sea and the whole area is spectacularly beautiful.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will pick up or improve all sorts of manual skills as they work here. And appreciate and the beauty of the area and the charm of living in Ireland.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a wide variety of tasks to do. General Maintenance of the gardens and land; this includes using strimmers, hedge cutters, and a miniature tractor. Reroofing basic farm buildings.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    They will live in a comfortable self contained 2 bedroomed flat (one is a double) in the courtyard. It has wi fi, central heating, washing machine and dryer. They will generally cook their own meals from food supplied by us but will I hope join us for meals from time to time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The estate is on the edge of the village of Castletownshend which, though small, has been included in the book about the 100 most beautiful villages in Ireland. It is 8km from the market town of Skibbereen which has a flourishing live music scene, an Arts centre, and a Saturday market. There are 2 bicycles, a 2 seater kayak (for those who want to explore the natural harbour and inlets), and beautiful walks. Those staying here generally love it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 176819434778