Help us to renovate 120 year old fisherman's houses to sustainable zero energy buildings in South Holland.

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch family aiming to turn 3 traditional 120 year old fisher man's houses to sustainable zero energy buildings. Stay with us and while learning what it means to renovate and modernize such old buildings. It is a discovery for our selves. The buildings need reconstruction, isolation, solar panels and solar heating. We focus on the usage of sustainable materials like loam and hemp fibers.

    Our family consists of 4. 2 parents and a seven year old and a four year old. Together we balance work and joy, appreciating the little things in life. Emmy is leading the built, André is supporting the built next to his job. Anne and Mart are going to the Steiner school and enjoy the beach. They love to help, interact and play.

    We will start our reconstruction the 16th of July 2018 and we are looking for people to help. We appreciate if you can stay for a week or longer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn about sustainable restoration, Scheveningen (historical fishing town and bathing resort), The Hague city of international justice, the Netherlands as a whole.

  • Help

    Help

    Isolation, wood work, deconstruction, electricity, pluming etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay together with us in the main building. We will create a room for you with a bed and furniture so you can have your own privacy. You will share the toilet, kitchen, living room and bathroom with us. We share our food but feel free to do your own cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Scheveningen is a coastal town. The house is 200m from the beach, restaurants and a musical theater. Scheveningen is part of the Hague with many historical buildings, the parliament and the international court of justice. Many activities are organized in this cities. Amsterdam, Utrecht, Rotterdam and many of the Dutch (historical) towns can be reached within 30-45 minutes by car a little longer by public transport.

    The tram stop is a 10 min walk from our house and brings you to the main railway station of the Hague, connecting to the rest of the Netherlands.

    At the beach many activities are going on: e.g. surfing, wind surfing and kiting. There are schools where you can learn these sports.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 174726267191