So Beautiful, the south coast of NSW, physically fit volunteers needed

Country

Australia

Favourited 281 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2018

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    On the beautiful south-coast of NSW overlooking green valleys and the ocean. Bernard 60 & I (Helen) mid 50's live 10minutes to the closest surfing beaches & the historic town of Berry on a 20-hectare farm, we moved here in 2010 and are passionate about our future here & look forward to hosting work away volunteers.

    There is no public transport to the beachside, however the train station is a 10 minute drive from our property. Having a drivers licence is prefered.

    We are undertaking educational programs related to soil management, cattle care and general farming activities, We have joined local community groups including land-care, slow food, the local beef association.

    We have a small herd of 8 Angus cows & offspring, 8 South Devon cows and a South Devon Bull, we have a wonderful vegetable garden, orchard, chicken coop & 5 hectares of the natural rainforest. We are planning to run a luxury accomodation, B&B in “The Guest House” beside the pool. “The House” (for 1week minimum stays) as either self contained or hosted. “The Gate House” as self-contained holiday rental in the 2 bedroom cottage by the entry gate.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Bernard and Helen are very friendly,helpful people we are happy to assist you with your English and show & teach you as much as we can. You are welcome to join in our lives as family.We are happy to have stayed in touch & visited with so many of our past workaways.

    We require help with planting, weeding, fencing & general farming, simple cooking, house keeping, maintenance, general gardening in the vegetable garden and orchard, rainforest management & maintenance eg. Workawayer's should be physically fit with good backs and able to drive, however the work is not difficult.

    As we often have more than 1 workaway at a time we do not want to prepare separate vegetarian meals as I am not experienced in the correct nutritional requirements, I love to cook and create delicious & varied meals but find the extra time required to prepare a separate meal somewhat of a burden. However, let me say, you are welcome here if you are able put aside your food preferences for the time you are with us. It is important we know your status re: food requirements when you apply with us

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house and setting are really beautiful and we have a 2 bed cottage offered as holiday accommodation.Volunteers are accommodated in one of the guest rooms of our luxury four-bedroom house. We can offer couples & singles a queen-size bed or friends 2 single beds in one room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    workers need to be non smokers, dog friendly (we have 2 small and 1 medium dog who live in the house) , clean a tidy, join us for meals including preparation & clean up (My son is Chef working in Ho Chi Minh City & I am a keen homecook happy to teach you cooking techniques & eager to learn new recipes from your country as I am about to launch a food blog, so you can become a guest blogger!!! See my instagram photos @helenattwater
    additionally we have a swimming pool with amazing views & sunsets can be magnificent, as is the "Milky Way" on a clear night, there are many nature walks nearby
    Many of our workaway have attended our monthly landcare day, where we volunteer 4 hrs regenerating and weeding in the local rainforrests, we are provided with a lovely morning tea and each family takes along a dish for the lunch table. If we have workaways we like to make a dish from their country and explain its origins, it is a fun day and you will meet local people who love to greet & welcome you with open arms.
    Thank you for your interest and please contact us if this sound like you!
    ##Where ever possible (driving skills and availability dependant) we allow the use of our farm vehicle for beach trips etc.(we just ask you to replenish the diesel)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hr

Bernard
Helen
living room
view from east deck


























Host ref number: 173956912311