Help with various outdoor projects in beautiful Salmon Arm, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a Swiss-German family living in the Shuswap! We live on an acreage about 15 minutes outside of Salmon Arm and about 45 minutes from Vernon. We are a family of five, but only our youngest daughter still lives at home. She will be leaving for university in September. Our cat Joey is part of the family and we also keep chickens and rabbits.
    Salmon Arm is a great home base to explore the surrounding area. There's lots of lakes and hiking/mountain biking trails, plenty of camping, as well as wineries and orchards.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even though we immigrated to Canada over 20 years ago, we still hold some European values. Family time is important to us and everyone contributes. We don't like wasting resources including food, electricity, water (ex: we turn the lights off when leaving a room, we collect rain water for the garden) and reuse whatever we can.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with landscaping in the backyard; we will be putting in a pond with a waterfall feature. Help in the vegetable garden would be great as well (planting, watering, weeding). Sometime this summer we will get a truckload of logs which need to be cut and split (using our log splitter) for firewood. Part of our property is forested which needs to be cleared of branches and fallen trees. If you like cooking, occasional meal prep would be much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 bedrooms available. The bathroom is shared with our daughter. We have been renovating for a while and there are still some finishing touches missing. Usually, mealtimes are an opportunity to spend some time together. We eat pretty much anything, preferably quick and easy :) Of course we'll be considerate to any allergies or dietary lifestyles, but we will need help with food prep in those cases.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transit in our area, so you will need a vehicle to get around. We like to keep our home reasonably tidy (definitely not clean freaks). Our evenings are relaxed and quiet; for example we enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony, watch a movie or maybe play a card game. We hope you feel at home and can be part of the family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet is slow...

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 173142138757