Help me with some garden projects and experience hippy jungle life at it's finest in Pahoa, Hawaii, US

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a fruit tree hugging hippy from Oregon, and I've been living on the Big Island for 6 years and working as a zipline guide. The project is to build more raised garden beds using guava and ohia wood, and to plant more vegetables and fruit trees. Then theres always tasks to do maintaining and improving the current gardens and buildings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll learn to identify and wildcraft lots of yummy tropical fruits and plants, and how to make garden beds and building materials out of guava and Ohia trees. The Big Island is one of the most geographically and culturally diverse places in the world, so you might even see some lava or learn to speak Hawaiian or pidgeon.

  • Help

    Help

    You can work independently on some tasks (weeding, debarking guava poles, painting) while I'm at work during the week, and we'll work together some on the weekends (planting trees, making garden beds)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm a little rusty on my Spanish now, but I achieved fluency during college and would like to brush up on it or teach others. Me gustaria ayudarles quein ya hablen el Espanol para aprender el Ingles tambien.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The homestead has a tiny home (8'×8') and a treehouse (10'×12' with a sleeping loft and a 12'x12' covered deck). There is Wifi and solar power, and it's surrounded by forest. We can share the kitchen in the tiny home, and the treehouse porch is a nice place for communal meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town of Pahoa is only a ten minute drive away and also Kehena Beach in the other direction. This area is very hitchhiker friendly, or I could get a bicycle for you to use. I'm happy to tour you around the island in my free time, and I might even let you borrow a vehicle (car or truck) sometimes. Bus service is infrequent, but there is a bus stop a few blocks away and you can go all the way to the other side of the island for $2.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi download speed is 13 mbs and 1 mbs upload speed

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week


Host ref number: 173117582685