Looking for help with our kids in our multicultural family in Brisbane, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4, with two children living in beautiful Brisbane, Australia
    Boy -Valera is 4.5y old
    Girl - Anna is 1.5y old
    And one 7 yr old Great Dane and 8 chickens!!

    We are a multinational family, from Canada and Russia living in beautiful Australia!!! Our kids are well behaved and go to Montessori daycare.
    We live in semi rural area on 2.5 acres, 30mins drive from Brisbane CBD. There is forest all around us, birds of all kinds, and other wildlife such as wallabies, kangaroos and possums.
    We have a pool, wood fired sauna, dog and chickens. We have camp fires as often as we can. Our garden is ever growing and at the moment we have numerous banana trees, blueberry bushes, strawberries, raspberries, lemon tree, paw paw trees, and other garden veggies. We believe in zero waste lifestyle, permaculture and love learning about new cultures and lifestyles... we also love good food..... so .... can you cook?

    We are looking for a live in Workawayer to start in September. You would have your own room in the 3 bedroom house. Aircon, Tv, Netflix and Wifi. The shower and toilet rooms are shared. We are looking for 36h of help each week, but you would have 3 days free to do what you’d like. You would have access to a car which you can use to go explore the area. We love travelling to nearby attractions and showing our guests the secret spots! 4 wheel driving, spending days on the beach, and discovering new waking trails are our favourite activities on the weekends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are a multicultural family... you will see Canadian, Russian and Australian traditions throughout our house. We are very inclusive, we love to chat over dinner and help discuss topics of interest. We are passionate about our kids future and about travelling. We have been backpackers ourselves and can help navigate your future travels. We can show you local attractions and will be thrilled to include you in our holiday weekends and trips.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a live in Au pair ( not Demi pair) who can watch two children for two days out of the week, and help around the house/garden for a total of 36h. You will have a weekly pay and any extra work outside these hours will be compensated. You will also have access to a car for your personal use which will come with petrol and insurance.

    We are looking for an experienced au pair who is has a sixth sense of what trouble kids can get into and be one step ahead to prevent accidents. You need to be proactive around the house, clean up kids messes or kitchen as needed throughout the day. You also need to be comfortable changing and washing nappies as we use cloth diapers at home. I would love for you to feel comfortable sharing your life experiences with the family, teaching us about your life lessons and maybe even teaching a new language to the kids! The kids go to a Montessori daycare, so knowledge of the technique is beneficial. We also practice attachment parenting, so your familiarity with this will make for a smooth transition into our family life, but is not necessary to be considered for the role. Please make sure to comment on the above description somehow in your application so we know you’ve read the description.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Live in with the family in a three bedroom country style house. 2.5 acres of land, wilderness, wildlife, pool, peace. You would have your own room with wifi and Netflix. The food will be provided any dietary items will be accommodated for. We’ve had lots of international travelers and love sharing our recipes, but even more we love it when you share your favourite foods with us. If you are a great cook or a basic one- we will make it work!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are experienced travellers who happen to be at that stage in life with a young family and work and mortgage. We love having travellers stay, but even more we love having helping hands to make work light. We are looking for someone who doesn’t need to be told what to do, rather they look around at what needs to be done, and just do it. You would be helping us in the house, maybe doing some light gardening and maybe occasionally some late night babysitting so we can go on a rare date night. In exchange you would have time to explore the area by car, go to the local beaches or downtown with friends. We are flexible with regards to time and hours on all the days except Monday and Tuesday.... those days are non negationable as we need the kids looked after while we are at work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    36 h / week


Host ref number: 172884431811