Help us with looking after edible flowers and herbs in Hobscheid, Luxembourg

  • Luxembourg
  • Favourited 682 times
  • Last activity: 8 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are seeking like-minded and enthusiastic individuals with gardening knowledge to join us in learning about and participating in activities such as harvesting herbs, edible flowers, and cut flowers. This is a wonderful opportunity for people who share a passion for gardening to gain hands-on experience and contribute to our gardening projects. Gardening enthusiasts often enjoy the opportunity to work alongside others who share their interests and to learn from each other. This collaborative approach can be a rewarding way to nurture your garden skills and build a sense of community among fellow gardeners.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will teach you all there is to know about growing flowers and herbs from start to finish. We can teach you English.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    It's important to be clear about the responsibilities involved and the conditions for participation. Here's a summary of the key points:

    Tasks: Volunteers will be involved in a variety of tasks including DIY (Do-It-Yourself) skills, picking flowers and herbs, weeding, mowing the lawn, moving compost, preparing flowers for the dehydrator, and packing them.

    Flexibility and Independence: We are looking for volunteers who are flexible and can work independently. You should be self-motivated and adaptable to the tasks at hand.

    Safety Gear: Volunteers should have appropriate gear, including waterproof clothing, sun-protective clothing, and good boots for outdoor work. This is important for your comfort and safety.

    Physical Work: There is physical work involved, so volunteers should be prepared for this aspect of the tasks and be fit enough.

    Duration: The minimum stay required is 1 month, and the maximum stay allowed is 3 months.

    Visa and Health Insurance: Volunteers should have the necessary visas (if required to work in Luxembourg) and their own health insurance. This is important for legal and health-related considerations.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to learn more German. I can teach English

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation: Volunteers will stay in our house along with my husband, James. There is space for two people, and they will have their own bathroom.

    Kitchen and Meals: The kitchen is shared, and we will provide all the food for the volunteers during their stay. Volunteers are expected to assist with cooking and cleaning up afterward, following a designated rota.

    Dietary Considerations: We are unable to accommodate vegan dietary requirements, special food allergies, or fasting because everyone eats and works together.

    Outdoor Space: There is a garden with a small terrace available for use.

    House Rules: The house is strictly non-smoking, and we do not accept smokers. Additionally, animals are not allowed in the house.

    These details provide a clear picture of the living conditions and expectations for volunteers who stay with us. It's important to establish these guidelines upfront to ensure a smooth and harmonious living and working environment for everyone involved.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Luxembourg has free transport so you can go and explore the most beautiful forests and lakes free of charge. There are also many beautiful vineyards in the South of Luxembourg and castles dotted all over the landscape.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 172399919665

Feedback (12)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Help our family with childcare in Bridel, Luxembourg