Enjoy art and nature and help us with garden in our upcoming artistic project in Treigny, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Former textile designer, scottish-french Virginia Crofts associated herself with former award-winning Brazilian fashion journalist, Simone Esmanhotto to start a creative projet and an artistic residency in the middle of the still wild nature of Burgundy, France, two-hour ride from Paris.

    It aims to instigate the sleeping creativity of people, all together with promoting a reconnection to (and protection of) nature and developing the local talents in order to keep the alive life in the countryside.

    We are just beginning this journey, with a lot to learn and a lot to discover. And a lot to share of this major transition from urbanoids to animists.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is ideal for curious minds and crafty hands who are engaged in a new-old fashion way of living.

    We prefer exchange to money, silence to sirens, kindness to arrogance. We engage into local still being cosmopolitan. We have a very horizontal - and not pyramidal - view of society and this required full time attention and responsibility. We surely do not believe humankind is above other living forms — we have three cats and, soon, chickens.

    We are in a permanently creative and collaborative atmosphere, working on ideas and meeting people - and we are very open, so the more you give, the more you receive.

    We love books and music. Insects and bad weeds. Essentials oils and great coffee.

    All this anchored in a still well-preserved medieval region, with forest, lake and many cultural activities.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd love to exchange with people who hold dear the same ethics of responsability and respect in the daily routine: you could be just a handy-person, an artistic brush, a green-finger.

    We are just two garding a good size garden and three houses, so this is above all an exercise of observation and attention on a daily basis: what does the garden need? Trimming? Perhaps replanting somewhere else? And the birds? Could we transform a space, repaint the walls, save something broken? In order to put the project up, we have also to think beyond the basic structure, but also on communication side. And we have spaces that could be used for yoga teachers who are nomads giving courses to locals as they travel.

    As we develop the project, we could resume the little help in four different fronts:
    1. Outdoor tasks: we have a modest vegetable and a not so modest garden which need constant care, such as trimming, cleaning, planting; if you are in permaculture, we really want to learn how to do it. There is a part of the garden which could be transformed into vegetable garden and it would be great to do it together.
    2. Indoor tasks: if you are a handy person, familiar with painting and reparations, we are still on decoration process and adaptation/transformation of spaces — it would be helpful. We will implement eco-WC (dry toilet and water recuperation) and, if you have artistic skills, you can help paint a fresco in walls.
    3. Sport activity: if you are a yoga, kung fu, tai chi, boxe, aerobic... coach, we have an outside deck and and big inside atelier-room ready to be your stage. You can use it to give courses to locals in your free hours

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Portuguese - Italian and Spanish understood

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are three houses in the domaine, two of which will take part in the project. The second floor of the third one, La Maison Rouge, where Simone lives, will host you. There are two rooms: one with a double bed, the other one with two-single, with the possibility of adding a third one. Bathroom and kitchen are in La Grande Maison, the big house, where Virginia lives. We all meet for meals around the huge table.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 167954461141