Stay on our small citrus farm and help with our non-profit animal refuge in the Souss Valley, Morocco

  • Favourited 453 times
  • Last activity: 26 May 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are an animal refuge based in the Souss Valley, Morocco, near Agadir. We care for over 1100 animals, mostly dogs but also cats, donkeys, and other animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will spend time working alongside local Moroccans so have the opportunity to improve your French and Darija, enjoy excellent Moroccan cuisine and see how life in the countryside and villages is lived.

    Your life will be enriched by working with the wonderful and affectionate beldi dogs.

  • Help


    We need help caring for the animals, the fun things like grooming and socialising them but also the not such fun things such as cleaning up after them and giving medication, tending injuries etc. The dogs are generally loving and return your care with buckets of affection.

    We also need help publicising our activities in order to support fundraising, taking photos and videos of the animals and posting them on facebook, instagram etc, and there may be the opportunity to help us with construction of new animal enclosures.

    It is not easy and sometimes not pleasant work. As a registered charity we rely 100% on donations to run and if we are to accept volunteers, they must be prepared to work hard in exchange for accommodation and food.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    Berber: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    You will stay on a small citrus farm where around 300 of the dogs and most of the other animals live. Food will be provided (excellent Moroccan cuisine). You will have your own self contained or shared rooms with ensuite bathroom and small kitchen if you prefer to cook your own meals occasionally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On days off you can visit nearby Agadir (1 hour away), or Taroudant (1 hour away) and if you surf the coast north of Agadir (90 minutes away) is famous worldwide for the waves during the winter months. There is public transport available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The internet connection can be very good..... but it can also be very poor.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have lots of dogs, cats, donkeys etc so it is not a good idea to bring another dog as there are always issues, especially if there is a risk that a dog will chase or harm cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 167842852295



Passionate and Enthusiastic Volunteer Teachers needed in Morocco!
Enjoy staying with our family on the beach and help with permaculture projects in Casablanca, Morocco