We are looking for someone with *️️️️handyman & housefixing*️️️️ skillset to help around the house and garden. Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 with 3 teenaged sons (14-19), living in a well connected but quiet and safe Berlin neighborhood in a house with garden. (we are 3 min. from the trains that take you into Berlins several hot spots within 15-30 min dep. on where you want to go) We both work, the boys are following their educations. Our family is bilingual - we speak English and German. Our house is fairly big, you will have your own separate room most of the time and sharing a bathroom w/shower with one of our sons. We are all easy going, there are no food restrictions in the family, we often cook multinational dishes, sometimes vegetarian, sometimes big meaty BBQs, sometimes just a quick sandwich. We live pretty quietly as we often work long hours, big gatherings or parties or late night sitting up is rather rare but on the occasion celebrated with campfire or cooking outside over the fire. Oh - there are 2 felines living with us. Both very friendly creatures.
    Since we have mostly need for small in-house repairs, we are looking for someone with *️️️️️️handyman & housefixing*️️️️️️ skillset to help around the house and garden. Simple things like hanging pictures and shelfs, fixing up some cracks in the brick stairs with cement, painting wooden doorframe, putting a catdoor in and other small repairs which we have no experiance how to do. It would be so nice to have someone who´s got the *️️️️️️I can fix almost anything-hands*️️️️️️.
    Also, help in our small garden is much appreciated as I am lacking the time. Any gardenwork and knowledge we can teach and help you to learn, we have been gardening, partially permagardening and mostly organically growing fruit and veggies for decades.
    So if you like what you have read here and have skills to do little house-repair works and like outside and gardenwork we would love to welcome you in Berlin!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you a lot of oldfashioned skills which I learned growing up on my grandmothers farm and partially still do on a regular basis - from making preserves over baking bread, canning stuff, organic gardening, making your own soaps, cosmetics; how to stretch the penny if needed and much more. Berlin is a very unusually, much loved city. There is an abundance of historic sites and museums, if interested in archeology for example you can see here the original Ishtar Gate of Babylon and the famous Temple of Pergamon and much, much more, as well as of course learn in Detail about the first half of the 19xx and the after war times of devided Germany and Berlin.
    Live in a bilingual german / american household. We already are culturally a little mixing pot, laid back, enjoying discussing politics, history and culture and always curious to hear and lear about your home and history!

  • Help

    Help

    We do not expect you to come and work 5h every day during the week, we would be happy if we can reliably arrange for some things to get done during your stay. If you want to get the work done in two or three days and check out Berlin or relax the rest of the week it is fine with us. You can do it at your own schedule. (except late afternoon/evening or f.e. if theres someone sleeping in the house drilling in the wall may not be the best timing)

    Looking for someone with *️️️️️️handyman & housefixing*️️️️️️ skillset!

    *️️️️️️hanging pictures and shelfs,
    *️️️️️️fixing up some cracks in the brick stairs with cement,
    *️️️️️️painting wooden doorframe,
    *️️️️️️putting a catdoor in
    *️️️️️️other small repairs which we have no experiance how to do. It would be so nice to have someone who´s got the *️️️️️️I can fix almost anything-hands*️️️️️️.

    --> If you spot other things you think you could fix or should be done - great! - lets do it!
    --> If you can show any available person of the family how to fix this or that - we´d love to learn!

    Aditionally, help in our small garden is much appreciated, there are a lot of unstarted projects ... :o)
    *️️️️️️removal of plants & bushes,
    *️️️️️️removing roots,
    *️️️️️️putting up a wooden pergola for grapevine,
    *️️️️️️changing a small patch/shrub-bed into lawn,
    *️️️️️️cutting back trees
    *️️️️️️chopping& stacking wood.
    --> we can teach you how to do all of this and much about gardening and veggiegrowing.

    We would like to ask about 20h of help a week. Sometimes Mr.M works nights, - on the following day quiet works are preferred, any normal weekday you can arrange your time as you like and do stuff between 7.00 and 17.00. we can talk and arrange everything, i am sure.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will likely have your own bedroom (at rare times a large tent with sitting area).
    Bathroom is with shower and of course hot water, shared.
    We may have a bicicle to get around the neighborhod.
    Of course we´ll provide all sheets and towels and everything you need for a comfy stay.
    There is Wifi in the house, though please take note that we do absolutely not allow any filesharing - there are strict laws and painful penalties for such in Europe.
    Laundry you can do at the house, there´s a washing machine and drying lines outside.
    We usually have dinner as a family - or whoever is at home, cooking is done by and helped by whoever has time, if you like to cook sometime we would love to try your speciality and help and learn.
    Breakfast is each at their own time, we always have cereal and outmeals/porridge stuff, milk and coffee and usually fresh fruit available.

    --< smoking is fine but not inside the house - theres a porch many nice spots in the garden - for rainy days a garage to sit and smoke
    --< we appreciate no heavy drinking!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 h/day up to 5 days a week

Host ref number: 166961375968