Small family farm close to the sea. Woolacombe, North Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 624 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Summer 2019
    NOW LOOKING FOR 2 volunteers to help us.

    Do you have a positive attitude with sense of humour, a willingness to give things a go and are kind enough to spare your time to help us...we hope so!
    We live on a small holding in a beautiful rural location, close to the sea and can really show you the best North Devon has to offer.

    We are looking for help with many different tasks around the place, including animal care, gardening, cooking, general help, painting, cleaning, house help etc. We have many different tasks on the go to suit everyone.

    We moved here a few years ago to live by the sea and are working progress in all areas. It is truly a beautiful place to live, a rural setting but close to the surfing beach of Woolacombe and have a small farm with animals and possibly the friendliest dog you ill ever meet! We have a variety of different animals, a kind of Noah's Ark...two of everything. There are two Shetland ponies, two pygmy goats, two Kune Kune pigs, two cats, also 1 dog and 8 Jacob sheep, twochickens and soon to be welcoming little ducklings! Experience with ponies could also be a great help, but not necessary.

    Your accommodation will be a large bedroom in the farmhouse, shared with workawayers. You will be sharing with one other workaway and we cook wholesome homemade meals to share together in the farmhouse. We will ask you to kindly help us for 5 hours a day, five days a week, as there is always lots to do. We really do need happy positive people with a willingness to be flexible and take initiative with a hands on and get stuck in approach, as depending on weather and circumstance planned tasks can change, rarely are two days the same here. The work is varied and in the summer we do try to visit the beach as much as we can.

    We are a friendly hardworking family who would love your help. Couples or single travellers welcome.
    We are a rural location a few miles from the sea.
    Sorry not suitable for families or anyone travelling with animals.
    If interested please get in touch

    Thank you for taking the time to read about us and find out a little more, we hope we will get an opportunity to host you soon!
    Alex

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will give you a lovely experience of rural life in Devon, we have a very social outdoor way of life, that includes cooking pizzas/ breads in our outdoor pizza oven, campfires and barbecues. You will get to experience life in North Devon with lots of opportunities to visit the beaches and towns in the area. Devon has so much to offer, a true experience of English rural life, from coastal walks, to surfing or just enjoying a curry on the beach and watch the sun go down.

    We are an active family, always busy and you will need to be prepared to get stuck in and be flexible; help out where needed and must enjoy being outdoors and being around children.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, I am Alex and live in a beautiful part of North Devon with my husband Nick, and three children (14,12 and 9). We are close to surfing beaches of Woolacombe (4miles) and our local town is Ilfracombe.

    If you love surfing, beaches or the rural outdoor life, then we could be the perfect place for you. We will be mostly working outdoors to finish some of the many projects we have on the go.

    We are looking for some workawayers to come and help us with various tasks at our small holding (small farm). There is always lots of general maintenance to do such as building decking, painting, mending fences, gardening, feeding the animals, cleaning or helping me around the house.
    There is a large room in the farmhouse which can accommodate 2 workawayers and if you are flexible about where you sleep we juggle time in the Shepherd's hut and house.
    Any building, handyman, carpentry, gardening experience or if you are handy with tools then please get in touch.
    We also need help cleaning and general help around the house.

    We are looking for friendly workawayers with very good spoken English, that are willing to volunteer along side us. We have three children, one young dog, a kitten, chickens, two pygmy goats, two Kune Kune pigs, two ponies and some sheep. You need to be willing to get stuck in and help out with various tasks, two days are never the same. We will provide accommodation, breakfast/ lunch/ supper and we have a very friendly, relaxed approach to life. You need to enjoy being around children, although they don't need looking after, they have had some wonderful and very memorable times with the lovely workawayers that have been to stay already.

    We will ask you to help us for 5 hours a day, five days a week, there is always lots to do, depending on the season and what needs doing. A positive, flexible and adaptive attitude works well here.

    You need to love being outdoors and enthusiastic and confident about taking on a range of tasks. If you enjoy surfing, coastal walks, kayaking or beach life in any form, we could be a great place for you to base yourselves. Having your own transport is very useful, but not essential.

    We would love to host volunteers (mid 20s and older please) with fluent English, strong and fit and you really need to enjoy being outdoors. We will need you to be positive, flexible and motivated.
    Sorry we can not accept any animals travelling with you, as we have enough here!

    I will reply to all messages.
    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation for extra short stay workawayers in the summer will be either a room in the house. The room is very large has WiFi and can accommodate two workawayers comfortably. There are toilets and showers shared with our family.
    We are in a rural location, you can walk to the local village across the fields and there are some bus routes, over a mile away, that we can drop you to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty of free time to explore the local beaches, amazing walking and cycling trails or visit the local towns. We are about 3 miles from Ilfracombe and 4miles from Woolacombe. You can cycle to the beaches, but it is very hilly, and walk across fields to the local village (30mins)

    This is a new venture for us and we have been working hard to get the business up and running, with now the idea of starting a community vegetable garden as well. All help is much appreciated.
    Thank you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Not sure who was having more fun, Walton or the kids!




















Host ref number: 166343655846