Help needed at a farm in Eyjafjörður :)

Country

Iceland

Favourited 1179 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five, Kristbjörg (1988), Björn (1986), our daughter Efemía (2010) and our son Ágúst (2012) and Steinar (2016).

    Four years ago (spring 2014) we moved to a beautiful farm in Eyjafjörður (about 15min drive from Akureyri).
    We have 46 milking cows and about 40 young and bulls, 30-40 horses and 100 sheep.
    Also we have three border-collie dogs living with us and tvo cats living in the barn :)

    Our farm is a family farm and we live and work at home, so we can kind of say that our job is our life :)
    The work we have each and every day is to milk the cows and feed the animals some hey - and this is were we would love to have help. We milk the cows two times each day and the feeding is the same.
    Then it is different between seasons what extra work is needed to be done.

    Our home is a very friendly and active one. The area we live on is also a very beautiful one and we often see the northern lights up in the sky in the wintertime. There is a swimmingpool about 8minutes away and Akureyri is only in 15minutes driving distence.
    We always try to have a good friendly relationship with the people who join us and today we have many friends from all over the world who have come to visit us more then once after the workaway experience ended.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer an insight into a typical Icelandic familylife out in the countrysite. We can introduce traditional food and customs practised in our area. Then of course those wo come will learn how to act and work around different types of animals.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly we need someone who is ready to help out with the outside work - such as milking the cows, helping out with the horses and the sheep. But also we need someone who is good with children and is not afraid to try new things and getting their hands a little dirty :)

    Male and female volunteers are welcome to apply.
    We welcome anyone who is willing to learn new things and who is ready to take on some actual physical work.

    - Help in the house: Help out keeping the house clean (for example; picking up toys, mopping the floor and cleaning the kitchen). Everyone living in the house will take part in this particular work.

    - Help out in the cowshed (feeding the cows and milking them). The person we hire has to be ready to learn how to milk the cows and work around them. We milk the cows twice every day, once in the morning and once in the evening.

    The person would need to have a clean criminal record.

    We would like to point out that we prefer longtime help - that is that we rather take in those who are able to stay for at least one month.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house with two floors.

    We have 2 bedrooms available for volunteers. Each has a bed and a nightstand and a closet or a cabinet. The beds come with covers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    different between days and seasons




Host ref number: 16469179724e