Join us and learn the unique skills of training working harness ponies in Poitou Charentes, France

Country

France

Favourited 248 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/12/2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple living in rural France on a 30 acre farm in the Charente-Limousin region. We breed and train to ride and drive a British native working pony which is from the north west of England.
    We also have an organic vegetable garden and work in the woods for winter firewood for the house.
    You must like dogs we have 3 plus some chickens for eggs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am looking for a workaway that would like to stay for a few months and really enjoy learning about carriage driving and living in a rural location with all the skills for a life understanding animals.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Come and help and learn the unique skills of training working harness ponies and the daily routine of looking after these likeable intelligent animals, their care, feeding and cleaning of harness and carriages. Also field maintenance work and some help in the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large double room within family farmhouse, clean and comfortable. We now also have a studio flat attached to our farm house with a small kitchen, sitting room, bedroom with bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautifull rural part of France with small towns and villages still having there medieval history with castles and narrow streets with a slow pace of live which is very relaxing.
    I have been training and carriage driving horses and ponies for over 30 years and I am still working hard to improve my skills as you never stop learning about how to see while training and looking after these ponies little interesting skills to help you to work with this wonderful breed of native mountain pony from Cumbria in the UK. France has a close contact with all Europe native breeds as horse sports are very popular here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    As the work is with animals then 5 hours per day














Host ref number: 163799578489