Help me to reclaim a bramble covered vegetable plot and with some general maintenance in Castelnau-Magnoac, France

Country

France

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Alyson and together with my partner, Chris, have recently moved to France, to a small town on the edge of the Hautes Pyrenees. We have a large garden and renovation work to do in the house. We are both originally from the UK (Chris is English and I am Welsh) but have lived and worked abroad for many years. We have lived in Canada, Switzerland and Hungary and have taken semi-retirement to move to France. We are both scientists by training but have focused on management for the past few years. We will be working from home offering scientific and management consultancy to clients.

    The house sits in 15000 m2 of garden, paddock and orchard and is surrounded by farmer's fields. From the paddock and garden there is a view of the Pyrenees. It is in a quiet location but the local town is only 1.5 km away and it is easy to walk to the local bar/restaurant. We are 35 minutes from Tarbes and 80 minutes from Toulouse. Skiing can be reached in 90 minutes.

    We have 3 grown up children currently living in the UK.

    We have 2 chubby dogs (black lab and golden retriever) who are very friendly and live in the house. The lab is obsessed with a glow in the dark ball and would love to meet someone with the patience to throw it all evening!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have eclectic tastes so if you would be interested in exchanging information on subjects from bird watching and planes to BBQs, we can help! We can also help with English language and to a lesser extent, French. If you visit when the children are home, you can also converse in German and Hungarian!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who are able to help in the garden with general maintenance and to reclaim a bramble covered vegetable area. We are also looking for general internal maintenance including some building renovations such as painting, tiling, putting up stud walls etc. If you like walking and grooming dogs, this would be a help!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 2 bedroom apartment which has its own kitchen/living room plus its own patio (with BBQ!). It is private for when you do not want to eat with us, although it would be nice to share some wine, beer and food! It has internet and TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Shops, bars, restaurant, hairdressers, banks and pharmacy are in Castelnau Magnoac which is around 1.5 kms away. The nearest bar/restaurant is 1.5 km.

    There are weekly local markets in many of the local towns.

    Tarbes airport is 35 minutes and Toulouse airport is 80 minutes. There is a train station about 15 minutes away in Lannemezan. Nearby there is golf, tennis, horse riding and fishing. There are several lakes within 15 minutes with one having facilities for swimming and water sports with a beach side cafe and bar.

    We are around 80 minutes from the nearest skiing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 163671337651