Organic gardening and intentional living in Ellensburg, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This 1.4 acre land in Central Washington, Upper Yakama Territory, is East of the Cascade Mountains in a high dessert valley surrounded by hills, ridges, forest and rivers. We are a young family with 2 wildlings (children) who love to share curiosity, food, stories, song/dance, adventures, and dreams. Living closely to the Earth and seasonal rhythms, we tend the land and animals, grow food, and share morning ritual of sun gazing, Breathwork and sitting with nature. We eat organic foods, use natural minimal cleansing practices, and use organic bedding and clothing; doing what we can to source natural materials that can compost back to the soil in a healthful way. As conscious consumers we use zero-waste practices that include refusing what we don't need, rethinking/reducing what we do need, repairing and reusing all we can, recycle what can be, and rotting food waste through composting. We collect food waste from a local mindful restaurant and feed what we can to the chickens and compost the rest into soil.
    This Summer we are sowing seeds to grow as much food as we can in hopes to feed our family and workawayers!
    We (Noah, Ali, Dakota & River) worktrade at a local ranch who has organic animal welfare practices. We are going to begin worktrading with a no-till farm in summer. *Both of these worktrades are for an exchange of credit for food. This is not expected for "workawayers" to contribute to and not apart of our offering.
    We are apart of the Buckskin Revolution Online Gathering (BROG) community where we are learning more ways to lead an Earth-based lifestyle. We welcome you to learn with us and share your knowledge and experience with us.
    We live with simple, slow, intentional ways and minimal impact on the environment and the Earth. With open hearts and open minds, this is a safe space for all beings. We eat organic food, try our best to tread lightly on the earth by consuming less and supporting our local community when possible. We unschool our non-binary/gender neutral/fluid children (they/them/theirs) through experiential learning. We value having people around who model purposeful, passionate, respectful lifestyles; not focused on mainstream culture, media and technology. We have young beings (Dakota and River) who are sensitive to the big influence that anyone living here naturally has on their environment.
    We have rewilded our sense of scent and are highly sensitive to unnatural synthetic smells; we prefer raw natural body odor!
    We maintain a scent sensitive synthetic-free environment and invite you to join this practice when here; if you choose to wear "deodorant" please use natural unscented.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn, alongside us, wilderness living skills & ancestral skills, hide/fur tanning, buckskin sewing, fermenting, nut cheese making, handbuilding pottery, zero-waste practices, guiding children with love, support, emotional intelligence, and boundaries. Nature connection, Breathwork practices, Nervous System regulation, functional movement, and radical self-care. Wild plant identification, mushroom foraging, herbal medicine making, ethical firewood harvesting, animal processing, roadkill salvaging, hunting and tracking.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We move slow and adapt with the weather of each day and to the flow of our two wildlings (young children).
    We have a variety of projects to help with;
    processing firewood, wildcrafting, hide tanning, preserving foods, fermenting, processing animals, growing food, converting a bus into an off-grid living space, caring for chickens and ducks, irrigation, carpentry, supporting dogs (indoor/outdoor) and cats (outdoor) while we are away for a day or so (farmstay), plant dying, conventional house maintenance, and more.
    We are not looking for child care; we are wishing for friendship, mentorship, companionship and facilitation of exploration for Dakota (4.5 years) and River (2.5 years) with nature connection, awareness, curiosity, creativity, equality, and fluidity.
    If you feel your skills connect with anything here or you feel comfortable and curious of practicing these skills and learning more with us please contact us. Let's connect and talk about collaborating.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sign language (American): Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would love to receive a language exchange and share cultural foods and practices

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two private rooms inside our shared house with organic beds and bedding, one twin XL and one queen. The bedding provided is made of cotton, wool, hemp, and latex (all organic). Each room has a closet and space for you to have your personal space. If you prefer the outdoors we have a 4-person tent or you can supply your own and sleep outside closer to the elements. We greatly welcome volunteers with their home on wheels! There is a washer and dryer and one shared bathroom in the house with a toilet, sink, and bath/shower * we only use organic biodegradable cleansing materials, if you don't have these we can provide them. A bathing towel is provided.
    We maintain a synthetic-free environment and require you to join this practice when here; if you choose to wear "deodorant" please use natural unscented. *we prefer natural body odor! This includes and is not limited to body care products, clothing cleansers and basic cleansing. We prefer the forest floor over sanitized space.
    Organic foods provided include fresh eggs, sprouted nuts/seeds, dried fruits, nut/seed milks, tea, seasonal fruits & vegetables, ferments, sprouted nut butters, coconut butter and animal products from a local organic animal welfare ranch. You are welcome to serve yourself within our shared kitchen and you are welcome to eat with us.
    Keep personal dried food storage in your personal room space, we have very limited refrigeration space to accommodate personal foods and recommend supplying your own mini-fridge if you're wishing for a longterm stay and wish for personal fridge space. We have containers you can use for storing foods and buying bulk. We encourage a self-reflection of your diet before joining us and communicating what you can do and what you can't in terms of adapting to our diet. We are in zerowaste practices and require these practices for the volunteer stay; we can share all the ways we know of and resources in developing your own practice. Together reducing our use!
    We have an extra vehicle that we can provide for your distant explorations of the Pacific Northwest for those with longterm stays and developed trust.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is much to explore here with rivers, lakes, mountains and more. The sun is potent and the wind is powerful here, creating incredible "skyscapes" with clouds and storms that track around the edges of the valley. The forest is 10 minutes away to be immersed in the elements of nature. Wild animals include elk, deer, bobcat, cougar, black bear, coyote and snakes (and more). Downtown is 3 miles away where you'll find local food, resources, university, and festivities. There is a large river people love to float on 30 minutes away and this river provides a well-known fly fishing destination. Trails to hike and adventure on as close as 10 minutes away or venture to nearby mountains within the Cascades 1 hour away. This is a bike friendly town, local shuttle transit and shuttle to nearby cities available. Seattle is 1.5 hours West of us, Leavenworth 1.5 hours North, Portland 3.5 hours South West and Spokane 2.5 hours East. Leavenworth is a favorite town of ours and we have friends who offer bicycle guides of the Bavarian themed town; a place for white water rafting, natural rock climbing, epic mountain bike trails, camping with a view of the mountains of the Enchantments and more. We are truly located in a central place where you can explore the PNW rainforest to the high dessert in the same day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital Nomads are welcome to work within their own room space as we have a screen free household with the exception of mindful, nourishing content.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have spaces to park if you are traveling and living within your van, bus, or rv.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 163163715288