Help with pets and DIY projects on my property in Killable, 2 hours west of Ottawa, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Bridget and I own a small acreage 2 hours west of Ottawa, Canada in an official ghost town that is brimming with interesting characters and stories. I have lived very happily here for about 4 years.

    My property has about 4 acres of forest, 3 acres of pasture with a small pond, and 3 acres of land with a house and various other barns and sheds. The area is hilly with lots of forests, rocks, and water. There are many interesting small towns within a 15-30km distance. The closest town, Killaloe, has a community run radio station where I do a radio show called "Walking on Air".

    The living space is a small, clean and in good condition. There are two bedrooms available on the second floor and there are somewhat steep chairs to get to them. Workawayers would have their own bedroom and bed. Meals and/or food for preparation will be provided. There are laundry facilities in the basement and a full bathroom on the main floor. Internet is available on both floors through an eithernet connection. There is no plan to get wifi.

    Seasonally I work around the corner (less than 1km away) at a top notch chemically-free salad greens and market garden operation called "Go Greens". A large quantity of my nourishment comes from my employers. There may be opportunity to connect with Go Greens for employment, apprenticeship and/or food.

    There are many exciting plans for the property. I like to experiment with all kinds of ideas and I am working towards improving the energy efficiency of the house. I am also working towards creating a sculpture park, developing an independent media hub, improving my chicken coop and fencing.

    What happens first will depend on who shows interest in the plans.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I offer the space to be creative and develop ideas at a moderate speed. I would introduce guests to various communities and individuals that are homesteading, market gardening, and have micro-businesses etc. I would also share my skills as an artist/technologist/indy media enthusiast who has worked in a lot of different areas.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be helpful to find travellers who are creative and have welding and/or building skills. Those that enjoy using waste as building materials would also be an asset. There is an area on the property that has a lot of waste metal and wood that could be used to help create a sculpture for the park or some of the materials maybe used for chicken coop improvements.

    The types of jobs that I would like help with:
    -cleaning out barns and sheds
    -maintenance and improvements of house, barns and sheds
    -reconstruction of a hen house
    -updating website and maintenance of an apple computer
    -producing large outdoor sculptures that require welding
    -setting up an outhouse
    -improve fencing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared house with own bedroom and bed. Plus there is opportunity to transform a barn or shed to a separate living quarters.

    Workawayers would have their own bedroom and bed. Meals and/or food for preparation will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of opportunity for outdoor activities such as cross country ski club around the corner, lakes and rivers everywhere, about 5 small towns within a 15-30km radius, fabulous views on every drive, community run radio station, great locally grown food, use of my solar oven, many local musicians to jam with, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would appreciate a digital nomad to help me update my website and help me create an indy-media hub.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for campervans on the property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I do not have any animals but I do pet sitting because I love animals and welcome animal guests.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 162984738675