Help us at sustainable projects in Montana, Bulgaria

  • Bulgaria
  • Favourited 98 times
  • Last activity: 27 Mar 2023




  • Description


    My name is Oraya and I'm an Artist. I'm 42, female, well travelled and interested in Nature. I recently completed courses in Eco building, including Rammed Earth, Straw Bale, Earthships, Cob, Hemp and Green Roofing. I mostly trained with the Brighton permaculture trust.
    I have been Bio-Dynamically and Organically food growing and have now embarked on a new project. My current project includes establishing a self sustaining small holding and two Eco building projects.

    I have a large vegetable garden that is chemical free and a cob oven and outside fire pit.
    The projects that I am working on at the moment are a 2 storey extension, a glass bottle wall building, and a barn renovation. I'm also making a sauna and steam room.

    I live in a village called Kovachitsa which is half an hour away from the main town of Lom where there is a station and coach station. It is very quiet village and my house backs onto fields and is 6 miles from the Danube River which is nice for swimming in summer if you don't mind a few mosquitoes. You can also swim in the lake in the village.

    Accommodation is in the main house and you would have your own room and great wifi.
    I can accommodate large groups of up to 15 people.
    I am available every year between May and September.
    My preferred length for guests to stay, is two weeks, but long stay and short say also welcome. Bring good shoes and boots.

    There are always many small jobs to do as well as larger building projects so the work is varied. I would welcome anyone with skills as I have a job for almost every trades person. I also welcome any person eager to learn new skills as I am happy to teach you almost any skill you want to try. There is work in, electrics, plumbing, plastering, tiling, welding, timber framing, roofing, carpentry, Eco building, vegetable growing, wicker fencing and lots more. I work very hard, so I will likely still be on the job when you are having downtime, and as long as it doesn't stop me working, and you don't mind entertaining yourselves sometimes, I'm happy. People who wish to put in extra free hours- I am eternally indebted to, but there is no expectation of this.

    I am very easy going and like to think of myself as fun, playful and sociable.
    I post a daily vlog for six months of the year, it's like a short video diary of the work I do here

    I also keep a picture diary on my Facebook page
    I haven't had many volunteers but the ones I have had gave five star reviews. I am also on other volunteer hosting platforms

    I welcome those who want to be a part of a community, (there are usually other people around.) I also welcome same sex couples, as I'm a supporter of the LGBTQI community.
    I very much look forward to hearing from you please do send me a message I could really use an extra pair of hands.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to share all aspects of running a small holding as well as teaching Eco building skills which will be offered as an on the job practical skill. I am also able to offer food and lodging, internet access and good company.

  • Help


    I'm looking for both skilled and unskilled people who want to learn something new and contribute to the Eco building projects as well as the general maintenance involved in the practical aspects of food production and growing. I am particularly interested in learning Bulgarian, so if you can help with that it would be most appreciated.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Your own room in the family house, a bell tent, or bring your own accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Agricultural area provides ample opportunities for hunting and fishing. The River Danube is 3 miles away and I have a collection of bikes that can be borrowed, if cycling and swimming take your fancy. There is also opportunity for motorcycle related activity, being in near proximity of a National trails course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have lots of parking for large motor homes on level concrete, in a beautiful garden.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have cats and no fencing but your pet is welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- self catering, 25 hours/week- meals provided

Host ref number: 159363766212

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Share stories, music, laughter and good food at our hostel in Sofia, Bulgaria
Join us and help out at our regenerative culture house and coliving space in the Rhodopies, Bulgaria