Come and be a part of our project and help us with planting and rescuing native plants in Waihi, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Suzie and Mark) have 25 hectares of coastal land that is being logged for pine currently. We want to replace the pine with a native forest. We both work full time in health, but this project consumes all our spare time.

    We started clearing and planting the first section of land during lockdown and so this is now known as "Lockdown Gully". We started working on the second section, which we named after our cultural exchange worker "La Esquina de Nacho" as he put a lot of hard work into this area.

    We love this piece of land as do many of our family and friends. We enjoy sharing our slice of New Zealand with others.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have learnt a lot about New Zealand plants and birds since we've owned this property. We are happy to share this knowledge as well as the practical skills we've learnt.

  • Help

    Help

    There are a lot of gardening type tasks to do, including clearing the land that has been felled, planting, rescuing native plants from underneath the pines, potting plants, germinating seeds, watering plants and more.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an off grid cabin about 50 metres from our small house. The cabin has a queen bed and a double bed. It has a large north facing covered deck attached with spectacular views. The cabin has a small room off the back deck with a composting toilet. The lighting in the cabin runs off batteries. We have a rechargeable power pack for use in the cabin to charge devices. The shower is in the main house. There is wifi in the main house, but not in the cabin. However there is good mobile coverage at the cabin, but not at the house.

    Mark and I love to cook and so we prepare all the meals when we are here (4-5 days per week). When we go to Auckland for work, we leave enough food for you to cook (including leftovers if you prefer not to cook).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 10 minutes drive from Waihi town. We are located very close to Orokawa Reserve, but there are other lovely beaches and walks in the Coromandel and Northern Bay of Plenty within driving distance. You will need a car if you want to leave the property as we are rural.

    We have a small beach on our property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Inside of cabin
Suzie & Mark finally finished clearing and planting 'Lockdown Gully'
Outside view of cabin
View from the cabin towards Tuhua (Mayor Island)
native trees damaged in the pine harvest starting to regrow
typical view at dusk
'Plant rescue' - one of the things we do to save natives from underneath pines that are about to be logged
Host ref number: 159178758377