Blueberry Orchard, Kerikeri, Bay of Islands, New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 586 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Welcome to NZ. Our names are Murray and Sue and we live about 15 minutes north of Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands, on a blueberry orchard. . Murray works full time on the orchard, and Sue teaches English.

    We would love help in the orchard now that the picking season has finished with chores in the orchard and in the house. We ask our helpers for 4 hours' work for every night they stay, in exchange for accommodation and 3 meals a day. We are Christians who choose not to work on Sundays, so ask that you provide and cook your own meals that day. We take up to four people at a time. As we live out of town there is no public transport. You are most welcome to stay a week or so. Free Wifi is also available. You will have your own separate accommodation, with a kitchen, lounge, bathroom and laundry.

    We offer friendly hospitality, have travelled overseas ourselves, love meeting people from other cultures and enjoy all sport. Our daughter lives here in Kerikeri with three of our 5 grandchildren, and our other three sons live abroad, so we enjoy catching up with them on Skype.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sharing in our lifestyle, way of life, food and language, meeting our extended family, learning about our local area, tourist spots and history, especially in the Bay of Islands which has significance in the Treaty of Waitangi.

  • Help


    General help on our blueberry orchard, with planting, weeding,and picking and packing fruit in season. Sometimes help is also needed in the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    There is separate accommodation with bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful places like the Waipoua Forest, Cape Reinga and beaches in the Bay of Islands and Northland, that we like to tell our helpers about.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 153889254492