Help with some gardening and general upkeep in Gopeng, Perak, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    266

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Nellie. My family runs a village-like bed and breakfast resort in Gopeng, Perak. This is 20 minutes drive away from Ipoh town and 10 minutes drive away from Gopeng and Kampar towns. The resort's full capacity is 80 paxx with chalet like accommodations, dorms and camping grounds. We provide a comfortable accommodation to travellers and there is a kitchen where you could help yourselves with your meals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are a lot of outdoor activities like caving and water rafting that could keep the travellers busy when there aren't much guests around. Small towns nearby can also prove to be charming and you can find multiple local historical sites nearby as well. Also, if travellers are in luck, we also host events at the location and you get to take part and immerse yourselves in the events. A yearly event hosted at the location is called the International Festival of Poetry and Arts or Festival Puisi Antarabangsa dan Lagu Rakyat (PULARA) since 2010 which normally takes place around November and October but preparation works would normally start in July.

  • Help

    Help

    Normally, we have a small number of guests so we don't employ a lot of workers. We currently only have a handful of steady workers. Hence, we mostly need help with housekeeping and general upkeep which includes gardening and general maintenance of the place. We expect 5 hours commitment a day from our volunteers (9.00 am to 3.00 pm). From time to time, we do have guests hosting marathons, events, summer camps, team buildings or family events on site, hence we'd need some help hosting small events too with event hosting, games, general technical setup etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bahasa Malaysia, Bahasa Indonesia

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will be provided a private room type of accommodation (single/ double bedded room). In the room, you'd be provided with a comfortable bed, A/C, electrical plugs, and an attached toilet with hot running water. Cable TV is available in the common area. We will provide 3 main meals per day but workawayers will be able to use the kitchen at any time of the day to prep and cook their own meals. However, we do practice no alcohol and no pork policy at the resort. Also, we do not have Wi-Fi and laundry facilities on site.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This location is set up in a village setting with wooden houses and is surrounded by forests so it would sit well with nature lovers. Also, this place was built by a famous Malaysian writer called Pak Malim and this place was essentially meant to be a quite getaway or haven for art and poetry enthusiasts. You'd probably end up spending more time exploring the nearby caves, waterfalls, historical sites and towns or writing poetries of your own while you're here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 153175847675