Permaculture fruit tree nursery in Limousin, France




Favourited 961 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Bonjour ! Namasté !

    Would you like to come and enjoy a most extraordinary landscape ?
    Endless peaceful views; green hills and valleys, lakes and untouched forests, a paradise for wildlife !

    The place is aimed on running a tree nursery saving ancient fruit varieties, (there are more than 950 fruit trees in reprodution here !!), a tremendous realisation !
    There is also a pottery workshop with amazing blue glazes, stonewear that can give a result of singing bowls, like tibetan bowls :)


    Four hectares of Permaculture gardens, orchards, forest gardens, over 950 different species of fruit trees and thousands of trees and perfumed plants and flowers.
    A huge tree nursery which was too much work for a single person to manage with so Chloë is a bit over busy keeping everything going. The association is called : Vive la biodiversité ! » and it's aim is to save local biodiversity of fruit trees, by organising courses about how to take care of trees and nature and biodiversity through all it's shapes and also by sustaining the tree nursery project. You may get to meet other amazing volunteers, two cats, lots of bees and other amazing insects...
    Here we try and live soft and gentle with the planet, eat organic local food, recycle and be economic with resources, try and cultivate peaceful relations with all, use a compost toilet which you can see in the photos...

    A couple of kms away there is also a family pottery workshop creating beautiful strong stoneware with blue glaze.

    I've built a few ecological houses, an amazing stone house that is not yet finished (hard for me to find time out of the tree nursery) I have also built a beautiful earthship (see photos!) which I built out of mainly recycled materials, it's in cordwood.
    You will be staying in a lovely little house two kms distance from the gardens, that is the commodities I can offer for now with basic comfort, toilets, kitchen and nice dining room, hot water... I rent this house especially to welcome volunteers because the periods when I most need help it can be too cold for camping, but the owners say they will sel lit soon so I can’t invest in renovating it.


    By being here you can benefit from a skill knowledge of 20 years of permaculture, but you have to pick up the experience while going through activities together, keep a notebook in hand ! to keep questions for moments when Chloe is available to answer, or ask other members as you spend time with them :)

    You will spend time in the tree nursery but also in the pottery with the large family !
    We ask for 25 hours per week but this can be reduced to 20 hours if the work is efficient :)
    In autumn the main activity is a delicate one: digging out trees, need people with strengh but gentleness also.
    We don't welcome new volonters from mid jully to mid september, but can welcome long terme volonters for full years if you enjoy the place. It is a lovely place ! I will send you videos if you wish. There are a few on our website:

    ABOUT US, The people you may get to discover !

    I'm a kind, generous and sensitive person, very busy with the tree nursery because there is so much to do. Life is so Beautiful !!!
    I am a sort of nature and life passionate, I love being alone within nature, human relations can be quite difficult for me though I love people ! (hypersensitive I prefer to meet them one by one and take time, the only difficulty here is that there is enough work for ten ! So I do organise sessions when I welcome many volunteers at once, hoping they can benefit from the presence of each other !
    I am passionate about Vipassana Meditation, Kundalini Yoga, peaceful lifestyle, raw food, gentleness to the planet and all beings.. and over everything I am in love with mother earth and Life ! I also love being in touch with light beings, like nature spirits.
    (I should mention that due to severe health problems from birth, I require a special diet (gluten free, dairy free, cereal free and eat raw food mostly) so I will not often share meals with you. I like to spend meal as meditative time alone)
    We will try and take time to meet around other activities : while grafting, weeding, watering, processing fruit crops, transplanting...

    In general I have plenty of energy from 6 to 11, then in the afternoon too, but not so much in the evenings, I love to dive back into nature for the sunset ! I sleep in the woods under the beautiful sky ! the best bedroom ever !
    I try to gather a nice team of volonters so you can have a rich experience here, but understand it is not that easy for me to handle everything when lots of people around, as I am a hypersensitive person.
    I like to work with courageous efficient people, otherwise I also love to work alone, living within and for nature demands courage !
    Sorry I am alergique to smoke, so could be difficult for smokers. I can't welcome dogs either as the tiny baby trees are so fragile!
    For the new project I am looking for long term partners to creat a little comunity around an open mind school (like unschooling), the anastasia way.

    at the moment you will meet:
    Julien He has started a vegetable market garden hre this year, doesn't speak much english.

    Jocelyne :
    J’habite à deux kilomètres des jardins, j’ai plaisir à rencontrer et partager et je peux aussi accueillir chez moi et vous mon association Joyevivace (la découverte de la nature partout, pour tous et avec plaisir !). Je viens de temps en temps. Soyez les bienvenus ! On baragouinera en franglais !

    Familly :
    Michele and Jean-Pierre
    15 kms away lives a very lovely family of potters who can welcome you for a few days in exchange for some helping hand, let me know if you agree with that option. The help there can involve babysitting, helping in the pottery workshop or organic gardens, it is a large family with indians, nepali, chinese, lots of children...
    My parents are lovely, very generous people, a very interesting philosophy of life that my dad will share with you as soon as you arrive !! My mother is a very loving person and will also give her best. They live in a big place, beautiful gardens, Michele loves her flowers gardens, loves to sing and share some music (guitar, piano…).
    These lovely parents took us traveling around the world in a bus when we were kids, to see how different cultures can be and to see our lovely planet, my brothers and sisters brought back « souvenirs » so I have 17 nethews and nieces from India, Pakistan, Nepal, China… a multicultural familly ! My parents are lovely, my father will give you his lecture of his philosophie of life and my mum will teach you lots of handy things, if you get to meet them to…

    Six km away there is my beloved musician sister Gwendy and her lovely children, she plays bensouri flute and sings boliwood and traditional karnatic indian music.
    Mother of Aileen (six) and Ayan (4 years), she also loves rainbow festivals ! and mantras
    You will also meet other brother and sisters who live nearby and come to the pottery: Candace (with two half indian children) Sève (with two half chinese children), Lionel and Pallavi (from india with their four children), Charly (and Shazia from Pakistan and their children)…

    WORKWISE Activities
    In the summer period we work in the mornings so you can enjoy the sun and the beautiful surroundings in the afternoons. Chloë starts at 6.30 because she does'nt like to work in the heat, but you can join anytime until 8. After it can be really hot !
    I can welcome hardy, joyful and self-sufficient volunteers who are happy to be in nature.
    Garden work can be quite hard work !
    I will send you the program exel document by email as soon as you ask.
    You can also receive trees and amazing plants in exchange for your help here, if I'm happy with it !
    I am also looking for the right person to employ on a long term basis as a partner for the tree nursery, who can take over the project.

    I rent a house around 2 km from the land
    The house has two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living room, it is two kms from the tree nursery (there are three bicycles).
    There is plenty of organic cereals, dry beans in addition to what I produce in the garden : squash, courgettes, and delicious jams and apple juice. There is also a lot of organic cereals.

    As we live in a Natural paradice, one of the most unpopulated area of Europe, it is a chalenge to arrive, long jurney by bus, train…
    I can pick you up on Tuesday and thursday in Aubusson from 11 to 18 only. if this deosn't work for you we will have to see if Julien can pick you up.
    Here is my family's telephone number so you can also call and give them the exact timing of your arrival. If you can tell us where you come from it would help see how to help with the arrival details. Airport, north, south…
    They go to a village called Ahun everyday (not Monday) as they have a pottery shop there. And they are closser to the town called Gueret. Often we have to organise blablacars from the airport as there is only a taxi (23 euros to get to the town of Limoges)

    Have a great day ! And maybe see you soon !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a lifestile very far from the consumer society, produce most of our food (fruit and vegetables) no tv, an amazing powerful untouched nature all around !

  • Help


    planting trees, weeding, pruning...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Hindi: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    I have recently began to rent a house around 2km from the land which has all the essentials (beds, kitchen with gas cooker and oven, hot water with bath and shower and flushing toilet). You can treat this place as you would your own house for the time you stay. I will try and supply you with some fresh vegetables from the garden depeding on what time of year it is.
    I can lend you a bike to get to and from the land and this should only take around 10-15 mins. It is a little uphill when cycling to the village but it is smooth sailing coming to the land so coming here may take maybe ( 10 mins or so)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walking distance: The nature around is beautiful, woods, great old trees,
    Driving distance: there are many alternative communities about half hour drive south, an interesting big family pottery nearby, lots of little lakes, one very big one.
    There is Sam, Martin any other lovely workaway host !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours maximum 5 days a week

Vegetables from the garden
Inside the earthship
View from compost toilet

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.0)

Host ref number: 15284264624d