Help cleaning our beloved sailboat in Whangarei New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    811

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are sailing around the world and are currently in beautiful Whangarei New Zealand. We are live full time on our 52 foot (16 meter) sailboat. Traveling this way allows us to stay in interesting countries for several months and really get to know the culture, meet interesting people and make friends for life! Whangarei is such a wonderful location with almost everything within walking distance!

    We have a guest cabin with bathroom that is private and available. Living on a boat is different, but also very fascinating and comfortable. Every nook and cranny is used creatively for storage. So your space will be a little smaller, but has everything you need. We have a galley (kitchen) and several lounging and eating spaces.

    Right now we are doing some maintenance to our beloved boat. Also, I had a huge art project that took me away from my daily duties and organizing. I’m looking for some help to reorganize my galley/kitchen so it’s more workable. Because I have been so busy with art, I also just need some basic help to get the boat ready to go sailing again. Nothing difficult, but it would force me to get this done instead of just doing art! We would work together, nothing hard or yucky. Just some basic cleaning and organizing. We only need someone for a few days.

    We normally foster kittens for the SPCA, but our last foster is now a permanent part of the family. Her name is Gizmo and she thinks she rums the place!
    The boat is on the dock in the heart of Whangarei and easy walking distance to many things. We are very easygoing people and want this to be enjoyable, but get this done.

    If you are interested to see what it’s like to live on a boat and you want to be in Whangarei for a few days, please send me a message about yourself. We should be able to get a message back to you in 24 hours.
    Thank you to anyone reading this. We look forward to hearing from you.
    Lauri and Chuck

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have sailed from the United States and visited 18 different countries along the way. We would love to share our experiences and hear about yours! We love the diversity of traveling, meeting new people, sharing idea's and experiences. We are permanent travelers and hope we have a lot in common with our potential visitor!

  • Help

    Help

    We just need someone willing to help with simple cleaning and an eye for organizing. Living on a boat, every nook and cranny is used for storage. It would be wonderful if you had good ideas to help with organizing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private room with private bathroom. We only have two cabins on the boat, ours is at the very back and yours is at the very front. It is surprisingly quiet and you can't really hear each other! We have several comfortable separate sitting area's with a lovely salon and a huge cockpit that is almost like a sunroom and separate dining area as well!
    A special note, while in the the marina, we use the office lounge bathrooms, showers and laundry. We are on the closest dock to these facilities, it is not far. But, it’s important to understand that it is not possibly to use the boat facilities while in Whangarei.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do here in Whangarei! And almost everything is in walking distance. There also is the fantastic buses of NZ that stop close by if you want to get to see area's of NZ.
    Being part of the sailing community, we are a very social group. We have happy hours and BBQ's almost every week and you would become part of this wonderful community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 2 or 3 days



Host ref number: 152555957656