Help in a traditional Bedouin family in the beautiful Wadi Rum desert

Country

Jordan

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    542

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Zedane from the Al-Zalabieh tribe, and I am a Bedouin living in Wadi Rum.
    My family lives in the Wadi Rum village at the beginning of the desert, as well as inside the desert's beautiful nature where we keep our animals (goats, chicken, camels, sheep, donkeys, pidgeons) and where we have been running our desert camp for tourists for 20 years.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My family will welcome you in the most warm-hearted way possible.
    We can introduce you to our ancient traditions and habits, the life in the desert, and our extremely beautiful environment. You will have many opportunities to explore the fascinating landscape and join us on our tours.
    My wife is an Arabic teacher and can really improve your language skills. Also, both of us (yes, men as well ... sometimes) cook delicious traditional meals and can teach you how to make them.

  • Help

    Help

    Me and my family are looking for a volunteer who could help out with one (or more) of these tasks:
    1) helping me run my tourism business (answering emails, organizing reservations, welcoming the tourists, help out in the camp if needed)
    2) practicing English with my children
    3) website development (if you have strong skills you could help me to improve my website and online marketing)

    The work will be not more than 4 hours per day and all your meals will be included.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Arabic, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will be happy to accommodate you within our family's house. Here you'll have your own private room.
    Sometimes, you can also sleep in the desert where you can have your private tent as well (or sleep under the amazing star-lit nightsky if the weather permits).

    Over a longer period of time, we would prefer to host a female volunteer, not because we don't like men, but because culturally, it will be easier. If the volunteer is female, my family's female members can move around more freely inside the house (as they don't need to always cover themselves). If you're a male, we're still happy to host you and will find a good solution.
    We provide 3 meals per day

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off, you can go to places such as Aqaba or Petra, or you can enjoy your free time in the village. There are buses to Aqaba every morning.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours (daily) with 2/3 days off







Host ref number: 152146793286