Are you interested in helping in my organic garden (vegetables, fruit, flowers) and general maintenance in the middle of Tipperary countryside?

Country

Ireland

Favourited 290 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small organic garden - 4 acres. Private school in home. 4 dogs, 1 cat, 2 horses in the middle of Tipperary countryside. I'm a teacher (French and English), have 4 children (32, 24, 22, 17) who are not living at home all the time. We have lived in France and Kenya and are open minded and fun. Our home is often full of friends and family from Ireland and France. We also love music. This would be the ideal family atmosphere for someone who likes the great outdoors, family madness and unpredictability and wants to improve or begin their English. We are located half way between Dublin and Cork.
    My parents live nearby and sometimes Workawayers will help them with their polytunnel or small jobs. It's a family affair!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would share an upbeat family life and perfect their English, visit Ireland and check out our local traditional pubs - one in particular which specialises in traditional music. If the travellers are outgoing, they can have a culturally rich experience.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping with the garden (vegetables, fruit, flowers) and general maintenance. Maybe helping to cook when necessary or do light housework - no more than we do ourselves ! If the person drives some shopping in town.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteer would have his own room or if more than one, they would share a room and share a bathroom and live with the family in a caring environment. I am a teacher and can help you with your English.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the middle of the country so not for someone who needs a regular urban fix! The nearest town is 7km away but there are villages and pubs nearby. Thurles is ideally situated if you want to visit bigger cities as there is a train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day - however some days may be busier than others. We are flexible!







Host ref number: 149537449961