Escape to Andalucia and help out with our property, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 391 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1288

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Qualified BHS Equestrian Professional, is now starting a fresh after taking time out from horses due to ill health.
    Natural healing has lead the owner onto a path where parts of the property are to be set for growing: organic vegetables, herbs and alfalfa for her horses! The finca is set in an Olive Grove with many other fruit trees. So a full complimentary, organic and sustainable style of living is sort after for us all and only like minded candidates need apply!

    My lovely equestrian property is now in need of constant TLC as without constant upkeep things deteriorate!
    Will you help?

    Various holidays have been previously tested at the finca over the last 10 years and now we are ready to begin my new venture. Having owned and run the finca for over 17 years, all whilst enduring my various states of health... with the last flair up, finally halting my life as I knew it....
    Now having healed myself naturally, and against all odds.
    I have now partnered with a Spanish Show Jumping Champion who has an alumni, and we also have a natural horsemanship and mindfulness department.

    Successful candidates who want a long stay (6+ months) with us, will help with;
    - the organic garden and its general maintenance
    - the various developments of the finca - painting, building, welding, landscaping, plant and tree cutting, adding irrigation, fixing things, creating, designing, crafting etc...
    - preparing the dining / activity terrace - floor tiling, building outdoor kitchen, building walls for parameter and planters, irrigation etc... To be finished by beginning of December 2017
    - preparing meals and light care for my elderly father
    - cleaning, tidying, repairs and painting of the property
    - preparing meals for clients, parties and events on above said terrace, from Dec onwards - this will have a paid advantage but can only be offered to Workaways who help us complete the dining / activity terrace...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Update Sept 28th 2017
    Caravan is ready for Workaways - ideally a happy couple. However the caravan can accommodate 4 people (2 at each end) at a push....
    Jobs needed to be fulfilled; basic horse care, feeding, mucking out, grooming as well as property cleaning, tidying, strimming, weeding, floor terrace tiling, area parameter fencing, outdoor kitchen, irrigation, organic garden etc...
    Those who are capable of joining our team could have a position with us with payment in the future and only if you are planning for a long stay of over 6 months...

    Update June 22nd 2017:
    Next availability is from September - ideally a couple to stay for a minimum of 3 months but the winter ideally.
    Builders / Carpenters etc.... are needed for various internal and external projects, as well as help with the creation of the organic garden, dinning terrace and other areas on the property.
    Some horse care will also be needed to cover days off.
    Accommodation in our double caravan with shower in the stable yard - own camper vans also welcome!
    Incomes will be available for a longer stay for the right couple, as we hope to open for holidays from 2018!

    Quick update Jan 6th 2017!
    "New lady team member" from 2016 = disaster but amazingly I managed to find my perfect renter who moved in the same day she left! So I have rented out my yard and half the land to a professional Spanish Show Jumper who has an alumni for kids and adults.
    Thankfully now, after the money I have spent so far on the property renovations during 2016, the property is finally "working" again, and we can now progress more easily.
    We are only interested in people travelling in their own accommodation (as the caravan on offer still has some renovation work to be done before it can be lived in full time - completed mid 2017) and generally no dogs.
    We are looking for ideally a couple with at least one person having some experience with horses and the partner having experience with building work and handyman work. Both interested and capable of organic gardening and general property maintenance.
    Ideal long stays of 3 months as a minimum, to a year is the aim.
    Training also on offer to a level of a new career and money can be earned for stays lasting between 6 months and 1 year in these fields, all my onsite businesses;
    Rosettes biz - you can even take this biz worldwide with my partnership back to your home country, for your own full time business!
    Finca biz - olives, organic garden, retreat holidays and products
    Equestrian biz
    Internet marketing for all the above businesses and another online based business for Spain.

    Quick update Jan 23rd 2016.
    Renovations have begun!!
    We have a new lady team member for the equestrian side of the property, already 3 more horses have arrived for training and to be sold, also for use in the riding holidays and clinics, classes and ride outs. Total now is 5 horses.

    We are reopening the finca. Step by step.
    We are looking for a minimum of two people to share the newly renovated caravan.
    Person 1 = property maintenance - weeding, sweeping, general exterior tidying of the property, organic garden maintenance, fence building, tap fixing, horses = feeding, feet clean & turn out/in of the horses morning and night as well as some occasional painting.
    Person 2 = cleaning of all internal areas of the property, all washing for the property, change over of guest rooms (once open), the cooking of, servicing and clean up of various meals, horses = feeding, feet clean & turn out/in of the horses morning and night, as well as some occasional care for my elderly father - giving of meals etc...

    The caravan is large and could accommodate up to 4 people.
    We require the days off of each workaway to be covered by another workaway.

    Ideally we would rather people who can stay for at least 6 months. As this project really requires a team who can work well together with us, to accomplish some rather fun goals!

    *️️️️Currently we will not accept families with young children as we plan to have silent R&R holidays here on a regular basis.*️️️️

    The owner has a rosette production and ribbon awards business on site and could also use some little fingers for nimble, delicate, arts and crafts style work and ribbon cutting!

    However mainly, we require help with the property. There is an opportunity for people to ride and care for the horses (classes can be received, occasionally)

    Our Workaway placement would really suit a 2 to 4 people team. Couples, Friends or Families.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Newly renovated double caravan with kitchen, set within the organic gardens! The new toilet and shower facilities are in the stable yard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't mind if you smoke but you must do so considerately.
    Ideally you should have a driving licence and you should have some form of transport. However we do have various people who can drop you into town throughout the week.
    The closest village is Alhaurin el Grande which takes about 25 minutes to walk there and about 30 - 45 mins home (all uphill!)
    Buses do stop at the end of our road so you can get about by bus but you will enjoy this magical part of Spain most with your own car. Everything is up to 2 hours a way....
    Skiing in Granada 1.5 - 2 hrs away and also KiteSurfing in Tarifa.
    The airport, beach and coast from Malaga to Marbella is all only 20 minutes! Oh... and did I mention we live almost on a 27 hole golf course, down the road from another golf course and we live within Costa del Golf!

    Ideally we would like to have people who are able to stay for a minimum of 4 months, after a 1 month trail period. If they are the right people and found that they wanted to stay, we have a project that will take a few years at least!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    part days, 3 - 4 hrs morning and 1 - 2 hrs evening.


Host ref number: 148725118861