Come and help me with my animal sanctuary in the mountains near Cusco, Peru

  • Peru
  • Favourited 91 times
  • Last activity: 03/01/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Cinzia arrived in Peru seven years ago to begin a new life in the legendary Sacred Valley of the Incas. Here high in the Andes is a very special place and the Sacred Valley has been a sacred place since the Incas and before. Having moved to such a magical place Cinzia gradually became more involved with the local culture and as time went by it became obvious that there was a need to help and care for local animals.

    Cinzia has been an animal lover for a long time even having brought her cats down form Miami to live with her in Peru. Cinzia is also a long time vegetarian and feels deeply about how animals are treated from the food industry to day to day life. As wonderful as the Sacred Valley is, animals are often mistreated and sometimes abandoned as well. Cinzia over the years has adopted many animals who were abandoned or on the brink of starvation. One animal led to another and slowly CInzia built up a whole animal sanctuary without giving it a conscious thought. Now Cinzia has many animals from cows, lambs, ducks, dogs, and cats. What started as just simple pet adoption here and there has grown into a little farm. Now Cinzia would like to give others the opportunity to develop relationships with animals in a deeper more conscious way.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So often in life people get caught up in work and lifestyles that are not healthy, often losing touch with the important things in this world. Here at the animal sanctuary things move a little slower. We live with the pace of the sun, the animals themselves and the natural rhythm of the world. Being around animals can be very rewarding and we can learn so much. Every animal has its wisdom and character, only when we slow down and interact with them at their pace can we gain more of a mutual understanding. Here we create a container to develop your own personal relationship with animals, whether it is a large cow that likes to lick you, little lambs that run around like dogs or the ducks that like so much to swim and play. We hope that everybody that comes and learns from these wise creatures gains a little appreciation for the soul rewarding relationships that can be developed with animals.

    Interview before hand please, so we may meet each other!

  • Help


    The help I most need is help with the animals! I have 3 cows, a bull, 5 dogs, 6 cats, 2 lambs and 10 ducks. Im running an animal sanctuary on my own and it can be overwhelming yet very rewarding. Ideally looking for volunteers who have experience with large animals and animals in general. Cooking 2 meals a day for the dogs, taking the cows out of their corral, staking them, making sure all animals have water, bringing the cows in at night. Feeding the dogs, cats, lambs, ducks and cows in the AM and PM. They’re all pretty simple tasks and quite fun. Depending on the season, you would be asked to cut barley/alfalfa for the cows. Helping to clean the main house, sweeping, watering the plants & field. Overall, expected work would be 2-3 hours in the AM and 2 hours in the PM, the rest of your time is your own.

    Interview before hand please, so we may meet each other!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Hello! My 1st language is Spanish and my second was German, as my family lived in Bad Kreuznach when I was small. However, after moving to the US, I lost my German and am very keen in learning it once again!

  • Accommodation


    You would have a private or shared room in my friend’s vegetarian restaurant (he also receives workaway volunteers!) in town a quick 5 minute moto ride from my house. You would have access to a shared kitchen there and you would be provided with one meal a day, typically lunch from the restaurant. On my property you would also have access to the kitchen if you so wish.
    This could be one option!
    If you want a full adventure, I can provide you with a 2 person tent and you can camp on the property, sharing the bathroom (hot shower) and kitchen.

    Interview before hand please, so we may meet each other!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Valley has A LOT to offer, from mini day hikes to multiple over night hikes. You have the salt flats of Maras & the archeological site of Moray about 45 minutes from Urubamba. Ñuapa Iglesia, a pre Incan stargate is 25 mins from my house, you have the last stronghold of the Incas in Ollantatytambo about 40 minutes outside of Urubamba and those are just a FEW things on this side of the Valley. The village of Pisac, is 45 mins to an hour from Urubamba on the other side of the valley, Cusco city is about an hour and a half and Machu Picchu is about 3 hours. Getting around is easy as there is plentiful and cheap public transport. You can make it to the cloud jungle of Manu in about 8 hours or into the high jungle in about 5 hours in Quillabamba, there is no shortage of adventure and once in a lifetime experiences here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Monday to Friday, 3 hours in the AM and 2 hours in the PM, total 5 hours per day but could also be less.

Host ref number: 147881269216



Help our ten year old in Chiclayo, Peru and also teach English as a second language
Come spend time in the mountains, and enjoy nature in Urubamba, Peru