DIY house renovation very close to Lyon City, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an engineer in the construction industry. Degree Civil Eng. and an MBA.

    I am a father of one beautiful daughter who visits me every odd weekend hence that weekend is mostly for her.

    I work Mondays to Fridays with some work from home times in between. I do at least one thing for the renovation project every evening, and much more on Fridays-Saturdays-Sundays. I am building my house hence, a lot is makeshift at the moment but with a fully functioning toilet/bathroom (shower +bath tub + washing machine) in the basement, fully functioning water and heating system and electricity! The kitchen is also working well semi-permanently installed.

    We'll sleep on the ground floor (Sitting Room) until the 1st floor is complete where I will have 3 bedrooms.

    Whenever possible, I could assist in the discovery of Lyon, touring the city. I can help you with getting around be it on bike or otherwise. I don't hire workers though, just mutual help will be appreciated.

    If the weather allows, it's a good opportunity to try out my inflatable Kayak or bike rides along the rivers. I am also open to learning other outdoor activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    DIY skills will be easily picked up! We will learn together DIY skills in construction ranging from tile work, underfloor heating, installing drywall, connecting lights and sockets, woodwork, all types of small skills during renovation!

    Also a few Kenyan ways of doing things!

  • Help

    Help

    I am in the process of building my own house and sometimes get overwhelmed by work because it is a solo project. That means, I always have a little thing to do in the house that may require a helping hand!

    Sometimes just to bounce ideas off a second person. Cleaning up the house is something I would appreciate. In the near future, may need help installing finishing the underfloor heating sytem (quite some work), installing tiles, toilets, bath tubs, doing dry wall, etc just pure complete renovation of a house. My first workawayers already helped me finish the installation of pipes and stencils in all the upper rooms.


    There is a lot of work to be done before the house is complete but because I'm not a pro, I cannot give fixed schedules and programs. We work as things get complete the schedule changes. if we discover we can't finish, we change and do something else. if you like fully fixed programs, I'm not your type of host... I like to believe that I am easy going but exigent!

    In case there's no current DIY (due to resources or other reasons) one is still welcome to help with keeping the compound clean or housework in general or language practice .....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to improve my French if there are French speakers visiting! If you want to practice English then you are welcome. you may also learn Swahili words in case you want to do a safari in Kenya or Tanzania. I am a native English speaker.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The sitting room is big enough and one can sleep on one part and I will chose another separated by the sofa set. I have good enough mattresses and bedding covers. I prefer people travelling in pairs but the sleeping arrangement is not ideal for a couple who'd like to get cozy with each other as a couple! Sorry!

    If you are alone, you're also welcome. No restriction or reservations.

    The basement bathroom is spacious, fully fitted and functioning and will be the main place for privacy. It has a washing machine as well. So, cleanliness is catered for. About the meals... I cook meals for my self but since I'm Kenyan, it's mostly Kenyan type of cooking. and I'm a poor eater. If not interesting, you can always bring anything you'd like to cook as long as we can both stand the smell of the food... I'd prefer if we could cook together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm very close to Lyon city! 15 minutes by bus (7kms from Lyon boundary). The house is right next to the Rhone River so you can enjoy bike rides along the river or even tour the city! In good weather, you can stay out till late and it will be an adventure coming back to sleep!

    There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the house and other buses right across the river. My house is right next to the river hence you may enjoy the views of the river.

    If you know how to swim, we could kayak together as I have a kayak that i teach myself kayaking when it's warm outside.

    We can go to the movies.... etc etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have parking able to fit 2 big cars. The space available is able to fit 4 cars.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day



Host ref number: 147734872913