Enjoy developing our farm in the beautiful semi-arid mountainous Karoo highlands in Molteno, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/03/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    At the age of 40, I changed career from business to farming. I live on a 400ha farm with my family (wife, 4 kids) in the beautiful semi arid mountanous karoo highlands in the eastern cape in south africa.

    Hot summers, cold winters, and errattic rainfall patterns make this a challenging but very rewarding life, as we endeavour to implement more and more permaculture design principles towards creating new ecosystems on our farm.

    We farm with sheep and cattle, have some chickens, make our own dairy products, make and sell soap, grow our own veggies, hunt wild antelope such as kudu in the winter, and strive to include more and more elements in our system, including fruit and nut trees.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help mending dams, fences, building structures with natural rock, planting veggies, maintenance of house and buildings, animal husbandry, horse training, carpentry

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Permanent tent in beautiful poplar grove

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to a few small towns, but very little outside entertainment. We enjoy the quiet, and sometimes solitary existence.

    The evenings are mostly starlit and cool. Days are filled with blue skys and sunshine.

    We are a closeknit family who live and work and school together.

    We live our lives close to our Creator, and seek guidance and council from Him in everything we do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 146519777629