Come here and enjoy wonderful outdoor life: hiking/walking, cycling, kayaking in Orsa, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple who love nature and art. Our home is situated in the forest near Orsa and Skattungbyn. In Skattungbyn there is a year-long education in organic farming and sustainable living that we can visit. It is not far from Mora (30 km) where the Vasaloppet goes to destination and we can visit the famous artist Anders Zorn´s home and fine Art museum. We can visit Santaworld (Sagolandet Tomteland) in Mora, a beautiful wonderland with lots of creativity.

    There are wonderful oppurtunities for outdoor life here, hiking/walking, cycling, kayaking.
    Orsa has a great music life with music festival every Wednesday evening in July.

    We grow our own vegetables and blackcurrants, raspberry and gooseberry and pick our annual need of lingon-, cloud- and blueberrys nearby in the forest.

    I, Lillemor, love to swim in the rapids in the river which runs only 150 meters from our home and there is a forest lake with a little sandy beach 700 meters from the house. We both love kayaking and my husband, Roland, loves fishing.

    The house we live in was formally a workers home for the manor on the other side of the river. In our home there are 6 bedrooms an art studio, office, 3 toiltets, a bathroom and of coarse kitchen and living room.

    I am an Art techer and Roland is a former chef and nowadays an armor who builds house bases of rebar and concrete. We have 5 adult sons and 7 young grandchildren

    We also have three cabins in Vansbro very close to Vanån (river) with great possibilities to outdoor life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Music festival in Orsa Wednesday evenings in July, fiddler meeting in Bingsjö i July, Zorn fine Art museum, Zorngården (home of the Artist Zorn), visit a chalet (Fäbod) to se how you lived in the past. Maybe try raku firing, learn pottery a little bit, landscapepainting, use a chainsaw and a sawmill, try kayaking, fishing, swimming in rapids. Walk in the forest and experience the nature. Visit the year-long education in organic farming and sustainable living.
    Learn how to cook your own red color to paint the house.
    Organic farming in a very small scale.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the garden, weeding, cut the grass, pick berrys, harvest and we want to build a greenhose of old reused windows. We also need help with some painting on the house and the windows. Maintain the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish, norvegian, english, some spannish, some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 6 bedrooms so you can have you own o share if you want, there are duoble beds in 4 bedrooms and bunk beds in one. There are 3 toilets and one bathroom wich we all share. It is so close to the river so if you want to swim instead of shower it is easy!

    When we are going to the cabins you can have your own.

    Food; We have one kitchen wich we share. We will cook for you, breakfast , lunch and dinner. But if you want to, it is possible to cook yourself.
    I am a vegetarian but not my husband so you can choose which food you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off; swimming, outdoor life, painting, reading in a hammock and listen to the birds shirping in the trees, bicyling, walking, fishing...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 146472633988