Help with some home DIY projects and live with us, our dog and two cats in Buffalo, NY

Country

United States

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife, dog (Nacho), and two cats (Miso Soup & Captain Jack) live in Buffalo, NY. We live in the neighborhood of South Buffalo (14220 Zip). My wife and I are into outdoorsy sports such as ultimate frisbee, kayaking, bike riding, snowboarding, and I disc golf a lot. Our hobbies include hiking, foraging, and playing the board game wingspan. We also camp a few times a year. We have owned our 3 bedroom 1 bath home for about 5 years and I have completely remodeled the interior. I would like to get the exterior resided and have already started the process of removing siding. It would be awesome to have an extra hand as the segments are large. Any help would be appreciated. In return I love cooking and would cover meals, lodging, and transportation if needed. The bedroom you would have is private with a locking door and a pull out couch. I have an extra a/c window unit that I can drop in if needed.

    We are in our 30's and have social events most evenings (volleyball leagues, disc golf, ultimate leagues) but have most days free. I teach Global History and Special Education during the school year. During the summer I am off until after Labor day. My wife is a massage therapist and so she works about 3-4 days a week part time. We would love to share our home with someone who feels like they could handle a bit of DIY siding and then chill in the evenings. If you want some independent time to explore that works as well. We have previously hosted people on couch surfing and had a lot of positive experiences. We enjoy meeting new people and would love to have a bit of help with a balance of fun in the afternoon/evenings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about residing a house using vinyl siding. I can take you around the Buffalo area and give you some historical knowledge as well as fun outdoorsy experiences. We have access to a boat, kayaks, bikes, and tons of fun games. We also have a large group of friends that we chill with and would bring you along if interested.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The project that I need help with is residing my two story house. I would want help handling siding to speed up the process as well as ensuring the ladders are stable that I am climbing. I would gauge your comfort level with any tasks and never put you in a situation where you feel unsafe or overwhelmed. If all you can do is help carry that's cool. If you want to go for a bit more that's cool too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's a Lovejoy sofa that has a built in pull out bed. You would be in our library which is a separate room with a locking door. I can bring in a window A/C unit if needed. It also has its own electric baseboard heater with thermostat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You should know that both my wife and I are progressively liberal. We are also both vaccinated and would prefer someone who is also vaccinated.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi and plenty of areas to work including a computer room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a two car garage and plenty of off street parking.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs would be tough and not a guarantee. My dog is protective so they would have to have a meet and greet at a park. After that they should be good. Cats usually stay in the basement until they are comfortable. We have a cat door leading to the basement to allow division if they need to.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 144888289163