Let's live more sustainably together in Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a self employed Building Contractor
    semi retired who would like to live a more self sustainable life style, developing off grid practices and procedures including; implemeting organic gardens, raising chickens on this 1.5 acres here in rural Bellingham, Mass. Currently building a pallet fence free of any post, i.e. no digging post holes. Its tended use to keep 1or 2 goats in.
    also on the property is a cool boathouse for guests, The second level is fixed up nice, and suitable for 1 or 2 guests.
    Kitchen, bathroom, laundry and Wi-Fi services are available too in the main house..
    I enjoy cooking,, working hard sitting around a camp fire planing the next project.
    Lots of fun possibilities here.
    I'm near a lake. And access to hiking trails in my backyard, lots of birds & other wildlife.

    The goal here is to get this place self sufficient, Implementing off grid practices
    & procedures to include building affordable prototype Tiny Houses, Implementing the use of solar and wind technologies. Sharing ideas and alternatives trade practices and implementing them in for practical use.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As A Contractor I have many skill sets and I'm happy to share my experience and knowledge of building techniques, tool use & safe practices.
    Shared home cooked meals, and your own place to stay separate from the main house during your visit.
    An opportunity to share ideas and learn from each other.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi The current projects and or wish list I have include, developing an organic garden raised beds, tube-house, compost bins, worn farm, bees, fish runs, ponds, building a chicken coop, outside kitchen, pizza/bread oven, hot tub, sauna, deck around the existing above ground pool. Maintenance of the existing main house. And much more open to ideas suggestions and feedback.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Boathouse as it's called is a separate structure on site.
    With a finished space on the second level. Complete w/ electrity, wood stove, windows, furnished.
    Kitchen & bathroom are shared in the main-house. Note: The Main house has (3) bathrooms. Updated Kitchen.
    I'd like to offer we have meals together optional and I'll cover food costs, Shopping together at local farmers markets and or supermarkets are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workaway Guests,
    Will have access to a mountain bike, hiking trails, row boat, 45 minute commute to Boston if interested by train.
    Currently I spend a lot of my time here working on Projects around the house.
    My friends will stop by from time to time & help out.
    I'm single, no kids dedicated to my my work & fixing up my property & house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 136635135872