Gardening and language exchange in Capvern, Hautes Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, my two children (aged 6 & 9 yrs) and I live in a renovated farmhouse in the Hautes Pyrenees. We are English and generally speak English at home. I speak some French and my children are fluent French speakers and are currently learning Spanish. Our home is located between Toulouse & Pau in a small village just 5 minutes from the autoroute with amazing views of the Pyrenees mountains. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside, perfect for hiking or cycling and only 40 minutes from the ski resorts in winter. We are looking for someone to help with some gardening / DIY projects and ideally language exchange too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We life within a rural community - most of our neighbours are dairy or agricultural farmers - so this is great place to get a flavour of life in south-west France. I'm happy to help if you want to improve your English language skills - if you can help with my French or my kids' Spanish that would be great too! I've also travelled in Europe and elsewhere and can share my experiences with you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large garden which requires work. I'm struggling to make progress as I have limited time due to family and work commitments, so we're hoping someone would like to help us. The kind of work involved is mostly clearing weeds, strimming / grass cutting, preparing / creating flower beds & vegetable plot and potentially helping with some fencing. Mostly I'll be available to work alongside you but you should be equally happy to work alone.
    We are close friends & neighbours with another English family who also sometimes come and help - it's a team effort!
    In return I help them with their garden / house renovation projects. So if the weather is too wet to work in my garden it would be great if you are flexible to help them with some of their interior renovation jobs such as fixing insulation boards, sanding floors etc. The work doesn't require high level of skill, just a friendly and flexible attitude.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English as a family. I speak basic French. My children are fluent French speakers and they have recently started learning to speak Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide a private room (super king size bed) with private bathroom within our family home. We would share an open plan living space and kitchen area.
    The house is peaceful whilst the children are at school but can be more chaotic when they are home and have friends over to play. We also occasionally foster a dog from the local refuge. So if you are not happy to be around children or animals, this is not the right project for you.
    I work from home (tele working) so high-speed fibre optic internet is available. My work requires a high level of concentration and I would need you to be sensitive to this (e.g. avoid playing excessively loud music in the house during my working hours)…otherwise we're pretty relaxed.
    You will have full access to the kitchen to prepare your own food if you prefer, although I hope you would join us for family meals, at least some of the time. We are not vegetarian but do prepare meat-free meals a couple of times a week. You will not be expected to help with the family meals but you are welcome to if you want :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of visitor attractions nearby (chateau, abbey, animal park) as well as many areas of natural beauty (Pyrenees National Park, Cirques de Gavarnie, Gouffre d'Esparros etc.) The historic town of Lourdes is just 20 minutes away by car and the Tour de France passes close by most years. There is a weekly market in the nearby town (5 minutes by bus) and a train station if you want to visit Toulouse or Tarbes. You can also visit one of the local thermal Spas if you want to relax.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Unlimited high-speed fibre optic wi-fi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If it can fit in a field it's welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 136154558481