Help us with gardening, nursery work, aquaponics, general maintenance in North Central Florida, USA


United States

Favourited 241 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    We live on 10 acres for the past 30 years. it includes a 5 acre springfed pond, greenhouses, aquaponics (we teach classes), an organic rose nursery, and lots of flora and fauna of North Central Florida. We raise worms to eat our compost. Had bees, bunnies and chickens but all are gone at this time as we are trying to sell our place and scale down.

    We have an upstairs with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and a common area which could be used to stay at in exchange for general maintenance and nursery help. We are 15 minutes from Gainesville, close to High Springs and many crystal clear springs and rivers popular with divers, canoers, kayakers and tubers.

    We are in the hills of North Central Florida and St. Augustine Beach is 1.5 hours away. Also not far from Crystal River as well. The storybook town of Alachua is 4 miles down the road with all amenities of small town living.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are now in our 60s and have a lifetime of experience in all things organic. From dairy goats to chickens to aquaponics, we have been living a permaculture lifestyle our entire lives.

    James is a master builder and specializes in building anything from houses to cabinets to pavers and patios and especially all types of ponds and waterfalls for the past 25 years. We have an extensive tool shop and anyone interested can learn much from this master woodworker.

    He is also restoring a sailboat.

    I am immersed in the daily growing and caring for roses. I use many methods and I teach classes in organic gardening as well as aquaponics.

    We are married 39 years in June with 4 wonderful grown children who pop in from time to time.
    We are easy to get a along with and you should feel right at home here. We have two wonderful dogs, Sailor and Bella and a cat on her last leg.

  • Help


    We would require 5 hours of work each day for 5 days a week. The 2 days off would be either
    weekends or not depending on our schedule. General nursery help weeding, mulching, fertilizing, potting would be the main job. Some lifting and moving heavy pots also but we have a dolly too. Possibly helping with the weekly shipping. Some gardening in our aquaponics systems is nice to have help with.
    Weedeating the lawn, some general help with maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We could provide 1 or 2 bedrooms (if needed) and bathroom in a private upstairs area of our home. One bedroom has a queen bed and the other has a twin bed. Also would include at least 5 dinners / week and some breakfasts when available. We are mostly vegetarian and eat organic. Would need to purchase some food for lunches, etc. We could give rides to town when convenient. Use of a bicycle. We have canoes for our lake.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On time off you may explore our many springs in the area, a favorite being the Itchitucnee
    Springs and state park for tubing and swimming, Oleno State park, canoeing and kayaking the Santa Fe River, Ginny Springs, Po Springs, etc. High Springs is a fun antique town with some great restaurants, as is Alachua, our town.

    The Retirement Home for Horses is around the corner and visitors are welcome every sat. to feed the horses carrots. Cedar Lakes Botanical gardens is also next to Devil's Den springs, a popular place. Many Festivals in Gainesville and surrounding areas. We have a nice Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, great farmers markets, a fun CSA called Swallowtail Farm just up the road. Farm to Family has concerts on many Full Moons and this is a 3 day event nearby.
    I am home most days working in my organic rose nursery. This is mainly where the help is needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 134811964163