Come help with gardening in a tropical setting with a surf break and corral reef out front in Bocas del Toro, Panama

Country

Panama

Favourited 249 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are retired educators living our dream in a tropical setting with a surf break and live coral snorkeling reef out front and just-passing-by howler monkeys in the yard. Bocas del Toro is a surfing destination that is basically at the end of the road. Our house is located on the coast but in the forest on the Drago side of Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro.; it is a very tranquil setting. We are a 5 minute walk from a bus stop that goes to Bocas town every 2 hours during daylight hours; it's a 30 minute bus ride costing $2.00US. We are isolated with the closest neighbor being a 5 minute walk. Our house is off grid- we rely on the sun for our electricity and the rain for our water.We use propane gas for cooing and water heating. Our drinking water is double-filtered down to 0.5 microns. We are farming shade-grown cacoa, currently with about 1/2 hectare or 1 acre- 300 trees. We are looking for interested WorkAway-ers for at least a month stay: the first part of the stay would be to orient you to our place and what needs to be done- feeding Che our rescued Mealy Amazon parrot, attending to our garden and composting system, monitoring our solar system, basic housekeeping; the second part of your stay would be to perform those tasks while watching our property while we travel back home to visit children & grandchildren. Anyone who visits the area will enjoy its beauty and peacefulness.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lived in Panama for 9 years, originally being Texans. We love Bocas and the rest of this beautiful country. The people by and large are very friendly and helpful. Our house is a 15 minute walk to a Ngobe-Bugle indigenous village. We have many close friends in the village and enjoy watching their regular volleyball, baseball, and softball games, when it's not raining. Staying at Boca del Drago is a great way to improve your Spanish and experience an off grid rain forest lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small garden that needs little maintenance; watching for leaf-cutter ants and termites is important. We do compost for the garden and cacoa trees. We have a rescued Mealy Amazon parrot that would need attention in our absence. We do have a beach casita rental where our WorkAwayers would stay, depending on rental bookings; otherwise you would stay in our dormitory below the main house. The cacoa trees need inspecting for leaf cutter ants, fertilization, harvesting and processing pods, and helping our local worker with grass-cutting, The buildings on site need termite inspection, general housekeeping and maintenance. The owners will accept any technical help that a WorkAwayer can provide with computer use- we are from that 'tech-challenged' generation.And we do have acceptable Wifi. And any artwork would be appreciated; displayed might be another story.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English 1st; Spanish 2nd

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on rental calendar of beach casita, 2 choices- the beach casita that is self-contained much like an efficiency apartment; or the dormitory below the main house, which has 2 queen beds, bathroom with shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During volunteer downtime, we have all the water toys you need to enjoy our beach and the coral reef 200 yards off the beach- snorkeling gear, 2 person kayak, SUP, surfboards of different lengths. From town you can get panga tours at reasonable prices of various island settings and activities- snorkeling, dolphin watching, isolated beaches. We live here to enjoy our own private surfbreak just out the window; and the bird watching is great, also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 133288898616