1 / 5

Help us with gardening and landscaping at our permaculture hobby farm on Denman Island, Canada

  • Favourited 36 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Brad and Heather, a couple who moved to our 13 acre Denman property after 35 years in Vancouver. We like cooking, gardening, socializing with island friends, spending time with our animals, going for hikes. We've traveled in many places in the world and enjoy meeting people from different places. We are interested in hosting only for short stays from Monday to Friday.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Denman Island has a very active local community. There are various ways to experience the culture here. Community events, volunteer opportunities, social occasions, dinners with friends, music nights. We have travelled in many places and appreciate diverse experiences and sharing those with others.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our accommodation is only from Monday to Friday - so that limits the time Workaway volunteers spend with us to five days. We have a small permaculture hobby farm on Denman Island and have needs for help with gardening and yard work. Whether you have lots of farm experience or are just inquisitive about visiting the island and doing general labour, we can accommodate you. If you have specific gardening or landscaping skills, please tell us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would like to become more fluent in Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large comfortable room with it's own entrance. The washroom is at a separate entrance along the side of the house. Comfortable queen bed, small kitchenette appliances, vaulted ceiling, ceiling fan, piano, TV, reading chairs, hot tub. On Denman you will have access to ocean beaches, lakes, trails, country roads....We have a couple dogs on the property, two cats and several chickens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to do if you like the outdoors. We're pretty connected to the rest of the community, so if there's a certain kind of people you would like to meet, we can probably help with that. Not a lot of action outside of summer, unless there happens to be community events while you are here. It's a great secluded retreat year-round if that is what you like.

    Monday-Friday only

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet / wifi if pretty consistent but not incredibly fast.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, will be able to extend a regular power cord.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, but need to know that your pet would be compatible with ours.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 173112259141

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Interesting people welcome to help with daily tasks in Sherbrooke, Canada
Helpers needed for haying! Home environment in lovely Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada