Help with childminding in beautiful Wasaga Beach, ON, Canada

  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 12 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Right by da beach! 5 min drive/15 min bike ride (5-10 on the e-bike) to the longest freshwater beach in the world - looks like you’re on the ocean.
    Looking for some basic help around the house, especially in September this year since I’m due to have a baby then :)
    Looking for someone to maybe play with Abby, our lovely toddler, for an hour or two here and there, or take the doggy for a walk around our big block, or in the beautiful dunes - a nearby trail system along the Nottawasaga river. Plenty of popular fishing spots. Our dog is easy - 11yo mutt from Japan, off leash with e-collar, or leashed whatever you like. We live in beautiful Wasaga Beach - the longest freshwater beach in the world! Very popular and the sand bars go on forever, has shops in one section of the beach and even a bit of nightlife. 30 min drive to blue mountain (escarpment, not an actual mountain), a few hours drive from tobermory, even less to some lovely waterfalls. Fishing on the river across the street from us is very popular, as is paddling or jetskiing. We have a very shaded property in a cottage vibe area - the oldest suburb in wasaga in fact! It’s all sand and I’m new to gardening so if anyone can help with that, even just designing or whatnot. I have a few other projects around the house I could use some help with. Also wanting to create a forest garden or whatever at the dunes. I like projects that help the environment, but the toddler is very clingy lol. So any and all help is appreciated! Also a huge fan of languages and culture - I’d love Abby to grow up bilingual. I just love having people in the house to hang with. But don’t worry I’m not a big talker lol. Our house is small but homey. We also get it sprayed for spiders so no spiders in the house :) even though we’re in the woods by the river on sand lol. Anyway I’m hoping to get to know some people and have a mutually beneficial time together 🥰

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live very close to the world's longest freshwater beach. It's beautiful and sometimes you can see aurora borealis on the beach. The sunsets are amazing. Paddling the nottawasaga river is a delight and we go to blue mountain - it's an escarpment, not a mountain - which has amazing tourist attractions. It's also apple country and its apple season right now. I'll teach ya how to make apple crumble lol.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Bridget, the mama, cosleeps and breastfeeds and is fi ding it very difficult to wean. Looking for someone who is experienced in gentle parenting/approaches to help us wean her and sleep independently. Husband cannot help during the night - he needs to sleep.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Love languages!! I have been told I have a nack for it. I’d love Abby to become bilingual.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room with Murphy bed, 3 inch memory foam ontop of mattress - quite comfy! Looking out into the front yard on a quiet street across from the river.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus system but I think it's a bit of a walk. We drive to town once a day at least. There are taxis as well. We have an e-bike for you to use too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great internet and a space of your own to work in.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a biiiig driveway, hose and we can run an extension cord if needed. We used to own one ourselves 🙂

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Depends on the pet but probably! Our dog is super easy.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 132757983955

Feedback

Hobby farm in Green Valley, ON, Canada
Off-grid living, DIY and gardening projects with our family near Dawson City, Canada