Learn how to build with local materials near the Beach in Playa Garay, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Gonzalo, I work with whales and I am a instructor diver. At the moment i am building a sustainable camping and learnig how to distill gin with local and underwaters botanicals. In this times of pandemic i want to offer a safe and beatiful place to work and live away of the big cities.

    Mi nombre es Gonzalo, trabajo con ballenas y soy instructor de buceo. En este momento estoy construyendo un camping sustentable y aprendiendo como destilar gin con botánicos locales y submarino. En estos tiempos de pandemia quiero ofrecer un lugar hermoso, natural y seguro para vivir y trabajar alejado de las grandes ciudades.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a small community of fishermen and whalers. Is a town of 100 people that we dedicate all to the sea. Everyone here is a diver and knows a lot about the sea. The inhabitants are the last indigenous Changos of northern Chile. In this place you can learn about the sea and the desert. The people are very friendly and the local culture is very lively.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love to find someone who is capable to learn how to build with local materials (permaculture) and help us to make a garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Is a house of stone and wood that needs finishing, it is facing the sea. We can provide of mattress. You can put your tent or mat inside in share room or outside in a camping site

    We can provide breakfast, lunch and we have a open kitchen to share and use in any time of the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We tried to get our own food, either on the sea or on land. It is not a cold place but a lot of wind.

    In this context of pandemic we can help you to arrive here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 127951413673