Enjoy our home in a small village in rural Lincolnshire in the East of England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 453 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    57  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Jane and Dave. We live in a small village in rural Lincolnshire in the East of England where we keep bees, chickens and a lovely cat and grow fruit and vegetables in our large garden. Most years, but probably not this year, we also keep pigs.

    We are looking for people with real practical skills and knowledge to work in the garden or to help with projects in the house or garden such as putting up a shed or making some new raised beds.

    If you are looking for a homestay please do read to the end of our profile and have a look at some of our testimonials to see if this is the place for you. We’ve travelled a lot ourselves, so it’s great to welcome people from around the world into our own home. We get the benefit of all the help with the animals, the garden and our various projects and enjoy the company of so many interesting people.

    You live as part of the family, and it is really important for us to know that we will all get on well together. There is usually a project on the go and always a lot of work to do in the garden. Part of living as a family also involves helping with ordinary household chores in addition to the 'work' that you do - simple things like washing up, hanging out the laundry, helping with cooking - whatever needs to be done. It works best for us when people just slot in and take their share in anything that needs to be done. We'll always make sure that you have enough free time to do whatever you want to do and we will enjoy sharing our lives with you and showing you our local geography and history.

    It looks as if the world will still be affected by covid this year again. The village is a safe place to be and hopefully by the summer time we'll be able to take our guests out and about visiting other places again. We realise that it's difficult for anyone to make plans at the moment so we are happy to consider tentative requests to stay for 2 weeks from May onwards from anyone who has the practical skills we need to come and help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In return for your great help and company we enjoy taking our helpers out and about at weekends if you would like to see more of the area. We could go walking in the beautiful Peak District, visit places of historic interest, look around some of our interesting cities - whatever you most enjoy. We also like taking our volunteers to the local folk club and, although Dave always tries to persuade people to sing, you really don't have to! Sadly though, the Folk Club and so many of the other activities we enjoy taking people to are restricted or closed due to covid, but hopefully that will be able to change again by the summer.

  • Help

    Help

    You could be weeding, mucking out chickens, digging vegetable plots, building paths, painting, harvesting vegetables, spinning honey, making country wine and a whole range of other activities. If the weather is bad there is always house cleaning and organising to be doing!

    We really appreciate people who are competent, practical, hard working and able to take the initiative and think about what needs to be done, particularly people with gardening knowledge, woodworking or construction skills, or general handiness working with tools.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room, either for yourself or shared with your partner/friend. It is a double bed so if applying as two friends please be sure you would be happy with this. The bathroom is shared if family members are staying. All food is provided, generally you will make your own breakfast and lunch and then we all eat together in the evening. We spend a lot of time in the kitchen working and talking, and you are welcome to use the sitting room in the evenings to watch television, play chess, play the guitar, play cards, read or relax to music.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village (about 50 houses) with no amenities, so you need to be comfortable keeping yourself occupied when you are not working - whether it is reading a book, using the internet, painting or whatever your own interests are. We have a wide range of books that you can borrow and you can use our wireless internet and TV. There is countryside all around to explore on foot or by bike and we can often offer lifts to the nearby towns in your spare time. Newark is a lovely market town. Lincoln is a small, historic, university town with a beautiful cathedral. Further away there is Nottingham or York and we are on the main train line for London, Newcastle and Edinburgh.

    We don't smoke, so if you do smoke we ask that you only ever smoke outside. We eat meat but if you are vegetarian, we don't mind and will try to give you an alternative to meat. It is difficult for us to provide a vegan diet though, as we eat a lot of eggs and dairy produce.

    As a general rule we don't take people under the age of 22 unless they are used to travelling and living independently.

    Thank you for reading to the end of this profile! We get lots of applications so when you reply please do tell us why you think you'd enjoy staying here and what skills you can bring to help us out in the house or garden. Just taking a little time to personalise your message helps us to work out who is serious about wanting to stay with us and who is just 'spamming' lots of people without really reading the profiles. Please also make sure that you have a picture on your profile.

    We look forward to hearing from you!
    Jane and Dave

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We live in the middle of the countryside but our broadband connection is pretty good. I run an office from home and have no problems.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No problem with a campervan, we have a good hardstanding area you can use and you can easily plug in to the electricity from there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


































Host ref number: 127891255512