Learn new skills at my farmhouse restoration project in Saint Sulpice De Guilleragues, France

Country

France

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I had an amazing experience travelling around France as a Workaway volunteer and now I have bought a house and moved here! I live in the middle of the wine country, 2km from the vibrant bastide town of Monsegur. I am renovating a 3 bedroom farmhouse and land. I moved to France from the UK for my great big French adventure one month before the pandemic hit (if only I'd known!) so my project has been delayed a little! Last year, despite the pandemic, I managed to get the pool put in and this winter I've been busy working on the pool area and gardens. I live by myself and the grand plans of friends and family coming over form the UK to help out hasn't really gone to plan because of Covid, so I thought I'd become a host on Workaway to payback the great experience I had as a volunteer and to get some help with my project!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be free to be as independent as you wish during your stay with me. Interacting with a workawayer is important for us both to gain something from the experience. I'm a native English speaker but I speak good French. If you're not a native English speaker, I'm happy to help you improve your English whilst staying with me. Whilst staying with me you can gain new skills and you can always teach me new skills too!

  • Help

    Help

    Any hands are gratefully received, but hands with smiles and personality are particularly welcome! There are lots of 'jobs' to be done so depending on your skills we can work out together what would suit you! If you have any skills that suit my placement do let me know - i'm happy to show you how to do things and teach you new skills too!

    Some examples of the tasks I need doing include, helping to restore an old barn, re-pointing walls, plasterboarding etc... Help in the gardens are always welcome, strimming, weeding, digging...always needed! Ideally I'd like to host someone who is up for a challenge and who would enjoy getting the satisfaction of seeing a job finished. I know that when I was volunteering the best hosts were those who said 'i'd like that completing during your stay'....If you are interested the best thing to do first is to have a video chat so we can meet each other and make sure you are happy with any jobs that I may need doing - plus its a great way to work out if we will suit each other! Overall its important for me, and I hope for you, that the experience is fun - life's too short right?!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a lovely bedroom with a double bed. The bathroom is shared, but is right next door to your room. The Pool is open in the summer so you can sit and relax by the pool after your day's work! Food is always flexible depending on the day's work, if you want to help yourself you are more than welcome, otherwise you will be given the three meals a day as expected. We can talk about what suits you - but you will certainly be fed! I have excellent high speed Wifi connection!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Monsegur is in the heart of the wine country! 1hour from Bordeaux and 1 1/2 hours from Toulouse. Both lovely cities are within easy reach, as is Bergerac (45mins). There nearest train station is La Reole (20mins). I'd be happy to pick you up from the station, but be aware that Monsegur is 2 km away from the house (about 30mins walk) so a car would be ideal, but i am often in and out of Monsegur and other local towns so I would always be happy to take you to shops etc... , Monsegur has cafes, tabac,, supermarket etc... Plus you can walk in the vineyards 5 mins out of the house - beautiful!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My wifi is excellent - particularly by french standards!- average 80 mbps

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have lots of land so can easily settle you into your own private spot!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I am a dog lover so happy to accept dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 127564265689