Come and help an English couple with construction and landscaping of a swimming pool in Cressy sur Somme, France



Favourited 5 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi. We are an English couple who moved to France 3 years ago. We need help with the construction and landscaping of a swimming pool. We live in area 71 and have a beautiful gîte that we finished last year. We are trying to install a swimming pool but due to the bad weather we were unable to install the pool earlier in the year. We had guests staying for 3 weeks over Easter and as soon as they left we started work on the pool. We now have guests arriving on the 12 May and we are then fully booked until the end of September. My husband works full time so we are only able to work on the pool in the evenings and weekends. He is able to take some time off work but not loads as he won't get paid and we are on a budget. We are looking for help with concreting and laying a terrace or deck, and general labouring. Food and refreshments will be supplied and we do have accommodation in the Gite before our guests arrive which is a beautiful property. If the volunteers should want to stay on afterwards we have plenty of work and accommodation in our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in a stunning area of Burgundy in beautiful countryside surrounded by charrolais cattle. We have dogs, cats and goats. My husband is an electrician by trade. We have accommodation in a stunning gîte.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with concreting, block laying, laying a terrace. Tiling or laying decking. Landscaping the surrounding area of the pool and general labouring.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    3 bedroom, 3 ensuite bathroom gîte with large lounge and kitchen diner. Food and refreshments will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to the Morvan National Park. An area of outstanding natural beauty. There are many activities in this area including, walking, swimming, kayaking, horse riding, boating and many beautiful places to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 123954664697